CyclingNZ Home
ASO Announce 22 Teams For the Tour de France
21 Jan, 2011

Honoring their agreement with the UCI the ASO organisers of the world's biggest cycling race have named all 18 of the ProTeam outfits in the line up for the 2011 event and in a patriotic move announced all four of the wildcard placings to French squads.  The biggest losers of the news undoubtedly are Denis Menchov, third place overall last year and Carlos Sastre winner of the 2008 event.  Their Geox TMC squad being given the snub despite their controversial manager Gianetti giving a presentation to the French organisers just last week on the merits of their squad being included in the three week race.  One has to only cast their mind back to the damage his then named squad Saunier-Duval did to the race when star riders Piepioli and Ricco turned positive results for EPO abuse during the race in 2008.

The news is particularly good for Kiwi fans with the squads of Greg Henderson, Hayden Roulston and evergreen performer Julian Dean all secure in the listed teams. 

The 22 teams are as follows:


2011 Tour de France teams
Omega Pharma-Lotto (Bel)
Quickstep Cycling Team (Bel)
Saxo Bank Sungard (Den)
Euskaltel-Euskadi (Spa)
Movistar Team (Spa)
Ag2R La Mondiale (Fra)
Sky Procycling (GBr)
Lampre - ISD (Ita)
Liquigas-Cannondale (Ita)
Pro Team Astana (Kaz)
Team Leopard - Trek (Lux)
Rabobank Cycling Team (NEd)
Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team (Ned)
Katusha Team (Rus)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
HTC-Highroad (USA)
Team Garmin-Cervelo (USA)
Team Radioshack (USA)
Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne (Fra)*
Saur - Sojasun (Fra)*
FDJ (Fra)*
Team Europcar (Fra)*

* indicates wild card selection.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley ŠKODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme a
Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign