CyclingNZ Home
Neilsen Nails Takaka Hill Climb in Tour de Femme
28 Dec, 2010
Jaime Nielsen (Hamilton) leads the Tineli Nelson Tour de Femme after leaving the rest of the field well in her wake on stage one, the Toxic Takaka Hill Climb.  She reached the Limeworks just under a minute in front of reigning Queen of the Mountains champion Emma Crum (Auckland) with Tauranga’s Courteney Lowe ten seconds behind to round out the General Classification.


Stage two belonged to Dale Tye when she split from the peleton on the penultimate lap around the Tussock Wines Mahana Circuit.


Sprint Ace is tight with Kate Chilcott (North Shore) and Nelson’s Jeannie Kuhajek locked together on 14 points with Sophie Williamson (Alexandra) just 2 points adrift.


Day two has the ‘ride of truth’ individual time trial but beforehand the morning 70km stage has a severe hilltop finish which is sure to test the legs especially after the two mid-stage climbs – Spooners and Reay Saddles.


Day One results.

Stage One Toxic Takaka Hill Climb.

Jaimie Nielsen, Hamilton, 30.59, 1; Emma Crum, Auckland, 31.57, 2; Courteney Lowe, Tauranga, 32.07, 3; Emily Collins, Auckland, 32.44, 4; Eloise Fry, Nelson, 33.26, 5.


Stage Two Tussock Wine Mahana Circuit.

Dale Tye, Invercargill, 1.24.15, 1; Courteney Lowe, Tauranga, 1.24.16, 2; Laura Hollingsworth, Wellington, ST, 3; Emily Collins, Auckland, ST, 4; Phillippa Sutton, Ohinewai, ST, 5.


General Classification.

Jaimie Nielsen, Hamilton, 1.55.15, 1; Emma Crum, Auckland, +.58, 2; Courteney Lowe, +1.03, 3; Emily Collins, Auckland, +1.43, 4; Eloise Fry, Nelson, +2.27, 5.


Sprint Ace

Jeannie Kuhajek, Nelson and Kate Chilcott, North Shore, 14pts, 1=; Sophie Williamson, Alexandra, 12pts, 3; Karen Fulton, Nelson and Courteney Lowe, Tauranga, 10pts, 4=

Click to enlarge...
Jamie Neilsen Climbs Clear - photo courtesy David Letsche -

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign