CyclingNZ Home
Roulston Part of HTC Train in Tour own Under
21 Dec, 2010


HTC-Highroad will return to the Santos Tour Down Under with a strong line-up including sprint superstar Mark Cavendish and top lead-out man Mark Renshaw.

"Renshaw has a long history with the Santos Tour Down Under, winning the Cancer Council Classic in 2007 and Stage 1 in 2008," says Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur.

"Renshaw is the best lead out rider in international cycling, and it will be great to see if he can set Cavendish up for some stage wins here in Adelaide.

"It will be the first time Cavendish will go head-to-head with his sprint rival and former teammate Andre Greipel so the pressure will be on Renshaw to set Cav up in the sprint finishes.

"Another Aussie rider to look out for is Matthew Goss, who has come off the back of a great 2010 season with stage wins at the Giro d’Italia and Tour of Denmark."

Goss signed with the US-based HTC-Highroad in 2010 and was the lead out man for Cavendish at the Vuelta a Espana, where Cavendish clinched two stage wins.

"Cavendish is regarded as the one of the best, if not the best, sprinter in world cycling. His presence at the 2011 Santos Tour Down Under will be a big boost to the race’s star-studded line-up."

Cavendish, nicknamed the "Manx Missile", became known as one of the fastest sprinters in the world when he won four stages at the 2008 Tour de France, a then unprecedented achievement for a British cyclist. He has now won 15 stages of the Tour de France.

Team Manager, Allan Peiper (AUS) will lead the HTC-Highroad team at the 2011 Santos Tour Down Under with the following line-up:

Mark Cavendish (GBR) Bernhard Eisel (Austria)

Mark Renshaw (AUS) Bert Grabsch (GER)

Matthew Goss (AUS) Danny Pate (USA)

Hayden Roulston (NZL)

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia a
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign