CyclingNZ Home
Trust House Classic Secures Big Names for 2011
7 Dec, 2010
The Trust House Cycle Classic’s standing as New Zealand’s only UCI registered tour is reflected in the quality of four Australian professional teams entered for next month’s 24th edition of the event in Wellington and the Wairarapa.

Australian national team, Jayco—AIS, Genesys Wealth Advisers, and Drapac Professional Cycling, all with UCI Continental status, and the newly formed Suzuki are confirmed, and given the consistent success in this event of riders from across the Tasman, the tour’s overall winner might well come from their number.

They include Drapac’s Lachlan Norris, who was second behind surprise winner Michael Torckler, of New Plymouth, and king of the mountains, in January’s event. Drapac is one of the bigger Oceania teams, and classic race director Jorge Sandoval is an admirer of its professionalism.

“We have seen how professional the team is,” Sandoval said. “One of its riders, Peter McDonald, won in 2009, and Norris almost produced a repeat performance in finishing just five seconds behind Torckler in January. Drapac will come well prepared with a full backup of masseurs, a mechanic, and a coach.”

A feature of Norris’s riding since January has been his continued strong performances on the climbs, a strength so crucial to success in the classic. His team-mates will be last year’s Australian under-19 road champion Michael Phelan, Stuart Grimsey, Adam Phelan, and Patrick Drapac.

Team Jayco—AIS has had a huge influence in Australia producing exceptional numbers of top international performers through its high performance programme. Five AIS riders have won the classic, one of the sport’s best stage riders Robbie McEwen, Corey Sweet, Hayden Bradbury, Matthew Lloyd, and, more recently, Travis Meyer. Another AIS rider, Michael Matthews, a stage winner in this year’s tour, has gone on to bigger things. He signed with the Dutch Rabobank Pro Tour team for next year, and he won the under-23 title at the world road championships in Melbourne in October.

Multi-race victor Richard Lang will be the team’s No.1 rider this time, alongside another proven racer Malcolm Rudolph, a former winner of the Grafton to Inverell classic, and Patrick Lane, Nick Aitken and Jay McCarthy.

Nathan Hass, who competed with distinction in this year’s classic, is a member of the Genesys Wealth Advisers team along with the well-performed Jonathan Lovelock, the 2010 Grafton to Inverell classic victor Nathan Earle, Matthew Marshall and Steele von Hoff.

Champion Australian age-group mountain biker Michael Baker is the Suzuki team’s principal rider. He will be accompanied by David Deery, Marc Williams, Ben Hill and Stephen Bomball.

Sandoval expects to name two more UCI-registered overseas teams in the next few days, and eventually the New Zealand team line-ups, which will include the new Pure Black squad, whose performance will be watched with particular interest given its lofty ambition to establish itself in the sport’s hot-bed in Europe.

“I’m very happy the leading Australian teams continue to regard the Trust House Classic as an important part of their international race programmes,” Sandoval said. “They know the racing will be tough given the hilly nature of most of the stages, and the opportunity to compete against many of New Zealand’s top riders. I won’t be surprised if another great Australian cycling talent is discovered in the classic in January. ”

The tour’s first stage is from Upper Hutt to Masterton via the Rimutaka Hill on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 (the Rimutaka hill road will be closed to all other traffic from 2pm to 3.30pm). The next three days will be in the Wairarapa, including racing up the exciting Admiral Hill, and the classic concludes with a criterium on the streets of inner-Wellington on the afternoon of January 30, 2011.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Å KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign