CyclingNZ Home
Cheatley & Amaran Wrap up NRC Titles
31 Aug, 2010
The 27th Annual Chris Thater Memorial criterium marked the final 2010 event of the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar (NRC). With both overall individual titles nearly in the bag, the focus in downtown Binghampton over the weekend turned to the NRC team titles.

The absence of overall NRC leader Luis Amaran (CUB/Jamis Sutter Home-Colavita) helped open the door for the Fly V Australia duo of Jonathan Cantwell (AUS) and Bernard Sulzberger (St. Paul, Minn.) to finish one-two in the 80.5-kilometer criterium and solidify the overall NRC team title for Aussie squad. Hilton Clarke (AUS) finished third for his UnitedHealthcare p/b Maxxis squad on the 1.2-mile, six corner course.

Despite his absence at the NRC finale, Amaran officially solified the men's individual overall title as expected after holding a commanding lead heading into the final. Amaran took control of the NRC in the early-going and never looked back, locking up the title by nearly 300 points. With his Chris Thater victory, Cantwell jumped from fourth in the individual standings, leapfrogging Rory Sutherland (AUS/UnitedHealthcare p-b Maxxis) and David Veilleux (CAN/Kelly Benefit Strategies), into second.

After holding only a 63-point advantage heading into Chris Thater, Fly V Australia's strong showing in the finale pushed the squad to a comfortable 200+ point victory over UnitedHealthcare p/b Maxxis who edged the Jamis Sutter Home-Colavita squads for second place.

With an NRC team title on her mind, Cath Cheatley (NZL/ Colavita/Baci p-b Cooking Light) did not opt out of Saturday's finale at Chris Thater, despite a more than 200 point lead in the individual standings. Although she was denied the Chris Thater win as phenom Samantha Schneider (West Allis, Wis./TIBCO) outsprinted her from a lead break, Cheatley finished second and accomplished her goal of helping her squad earn the overall 2010 NRC team title.

Cheatley took over the NRC lead from 2009 champion Allison Powers (Pinecliffe, Colo./Team Vera Bradley Foundation) after a solid performance at the Fitchburg Longsjo Classic mid-way through the season and held a steady pace thereafter. Powers finished the 2010 NRC season second overall, ahead of stage race specialist Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty12) in third.

As on the men's side, Cheatley's Colavita/Baci p-b Cooking Light squad used a strong final-race performance to secure the overall NRC title ahead of TIBCO to the Top and the Team Vera Bradley Foundation.

View complete results from the Chris Thater Memorial

Final 2010 USA Cycling National Racing Calendar standings:

Men's Individual Standings
1. Luis Amaran (CUB/Jamis Sutter Home-Colavita) 1139
2. Jonathan Cantwell (AUS/Fly V Australia) 855
3. Rory Sutherland (AUS/UnitedHealthcare p-b Maxxis) 805
4. David Veilleux (CAN/Kelly Benefit Strategies) 743
5. Ben Jacques-Maynes (Watsonville, Calif./BISSELL Pro Cycling) 632

Women's Individual Standings
1. Cath Cheatley (NZL/ Colavita/Baci p-b Cooking Light) 1133
2. Allison Powers (Pinecliffe, Colo./Team Vera Bradley Foundation) 827
3. Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty12) 732
4. Laura Van Gilder (Pocono Pines, Pa./Mellow Mushroom) 651
5. Shelley Evans (Scotts Valley, Calif./Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12) 529

Men's Team Standings
1. Fly V Australia 2562
2. UnitedHealthcare p/b Maxxis 2315
3. Jamis Sutter Home-Colavita 2305
4. BISSELL Pro Cycling 1897
5. Kelly Benefit Strategies 1660

Women's Team Standings
1. Colavita/Baci p-b Cooking Light 2346
2. TIBCO to the Top 2088
3. Team Vera Bradley Foundation 1981
4. Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty 12 1743
5. Webcor 1430

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley ŠKODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign