CyclingNZ Home
McCauley Adds More Gold to His Trophy Cabinet
3 May, 2010
Multi national champion Gordon McCauley made a rare appearance to win the RaboPlus national club road race title in Hawkes Bay today.

McCauley (Counties Manukau) managed the final sprint to dispose of Joseph Cooper (Port Nicholson Poneke) and Shem Rodger (Te Awamutu Sports) to take out the title.

He used his experience in the windy conditions to make the key breaks that led to victory.

“The crosswinds were really strong. It reminded me of the Tour of Southland,” McCauley said.

“I waited for the strongest of them and went and that split things up pretty much and sent again and that left three of us away –me, Jo Cooper and Shem Rodger.

“I knew I could outsprint Jo so I waited for the final sprint.”

McCauley said he rarely competes in the club nationals.

“It’s primarily for the age group cyclists but I had nine people competing that I coach, so I thought I would come. Also my Counties Manukau club have been good to me and they really wanted to win the club trophy.

“It was no easy day though with the hills and the winds.”

McCauley said he extended his season a further week to compete but will now take a break before preparing to focus on the time trial and his attempt to win selection for the Commonwealth Games.

“That’s my focus and if I make the team then it will be totally about preparing for the time trial which is a different beat than a road race.”

Cooper finished second, with both riders clocking 4:21.19 for the 180kms, with Shem Rodger (Waikato) third across the line to claim the under-23 honours.

Chris Nicholson (Tasman Wheelers), who won the time trial on Friday, finished third in the senior men.

Results, RaboPlus national club championships:

Senior men, 180km: Gordon McCauley (Counties Manukau) 4:21.19, 1; Joseph Cooper (Port Nicholson Poneke) same time, 2; Chris Nicholson (Tasman Wheelers) 4:24.22, 3.

Under 23: Shem Rodger (Te Awamutu Sports) 4:21.19, 1; Sean Joyce (Forestland Wheelers) 4:24.22, 2; Louis Crosby (Counties Manukau) same time, 3.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
The 2018 Downhill and Cross Country World Cups came to a climax this weekend with the final round of racing in France. We saw great season-ending placings for Fizik saddle riders: Loris Vergier took 4th and Luca Shaw 8th in the Downhill, while Lars Forster 4th, Stephane Tempier 6th and Titouan >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2019 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign