CyclingNZ Home

Gordy Leads

Elite womens finish

Cream Rises to the Top in Takapuna
23 Jan, 2010

The North Shore City Grand Prix crowned two new worthy champions last night in Takapuna Beach. Proving how specialised this form of cycling is, criterium sprinters Emma Petersen & Peter Latham took glory at the end of the night.

With an Elite Women’s field stacked with contenders, it was ex-Olympic rower Sonia Waddell who opened the account first, claiming the night’s first sprint. NZ Team Pursuiter Kaytee Boyd followed with 2 consecutive sprints before Waikato’s Emma Petersen launched off the front. Petersen claimed the following sprint & was then joined by Oceania Champion Bridie O’Donnell (Australia). This proved to be the decisive move of the race with the 2 riders working in harmony to stave off chasing rider including Boyd & triple Grand Prix champion Marina Duvnjak.

It was out of the final corner where the diminutive Petersen out kicked the powerful O’Donnell in the desperate gallop for the line.

Duvnjak rounded out the podium with Boyd fourth.

By the start of the Elite Men’s race, the bars & pavements of Hurstmere Rd were overflowing with expectant crowds anticipating the night’s final showdown.

It was all Bici Vida for the first 10 minutes with Patrick Bevin

(Taupo) & Alex Ray (Auckland) sharing the sprint primes. NZ Timetrial champion, Subway-Avanti’s Gordon McCauley claimed Sprint 3 before the most significant break of the night formed taking with it U23 NZ rep Clinton Avery (Rotorua), Eric Drower (Subway-Avanti), Kiwivelo’s Shem Rodger (Waikato) & Patrick Bevin. With Drower & Bevin sharing the sprint prizes along the way, the field’s strong teams were happy to let the break sit no more than 250m off the front. However, with the mid-race antics finished with 5 minutes to race, it was time for the serious shake-up for the finishline.

It was here that a masterclass in power & timing was delivered. With 2 laps to go the field was strung the length of Hurstmere Rd with Kiwivelo riding for NZ Champion Peter Latham, Bici Vida riding for Mike Northey & Patrick Bevin & Subway-Avanti for Gordon McCauley.

Storming into the finishline stretch, European professional Tim Gudsell who had remained anonymous until the penultimate lap, led his teammate Peter Latham through the final corner. From here it was Latham who finished the business, crossing the line ahead of Northey & McCauley in a superb demonstration of teamwork & judgement.

Thanks go to North Shore City Council, Takapuna Beach, SRAM, Giro Helmets & RICOH

Click to enlarge...
Pete Latham

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign