CyclingNZ Home
Dunedin Weather holds for NZ Cup Mountainbike Action
17 Jan, 2010
The RaboPlus NZ MTB Cup completed Round Two of the six race series today in Dunedin. Wet and changeable weather in the week leading up to the event, and threatening rain right through the weekend didn't prevent some close racing in both Saturday's Cross Country event and todays Downhill race. 
The age group categories racing in Saturday morning's Forrester Park Cross Country race encountered a greasy track which dried significantly during their two hour race - by 2pm and the Elite/U23 and U19 race, the race course was in perfect condition and produced two exciting features. The women's Elite/U23 race was dominated from the start again this week by Christchurch's downhill convert Amy Laird, proving her first round victory in Christchurch was no fluke. Rotorua's Samara Sheppard couldn't hold Laird's pace after the first of the four lap 25km race, and Dunedin's Sara MacDonald gamely tried to stay in touch to finish only 48 seconds behind Laird.
Brendon Sharratt (Wellington) also won again in the Mens Elite/U23 event. Producing another start to finish win, Sharratt gapped second place U23 athlete Ethan Glover (Nelson) by six minutes and was never seriously challenged during the men's six lap 38km race. With the U19 athletes on course at the same time as the Elite/U23's there was a display of brutal and exceptional racing in this Junior grade. Winner Brad Hudson (Christchurch) kept pace with Sharratt during the U19 five lap trace, with the first three U19 finishers all within 3 minutes of Hudson by the end of their race.
Today's action was at Signal Hill with the Downhill event. Unfortunately an injury to first round winner Sam Blenkinsop (Wanganui) during practice day robbed the field of the close competitive rivalry Blenkinsop has with former teammate Justin Leov (Dunedin). Leov won the Elite race this weekend, but by a tight margin, with 2006 Junior World Champion Cameron Cole (Christchurch) taking the second podium step. Current Junior World Champion Brook MacDonald put on a great display of controlled riding to seed first and ride as last starter for the afternoon race start, but dispite shaving four seconds off his seeding time had to settle for third place. Sabrina Jonnier (France) again showed her 2009 World Cup winning pedigree to comfortably win the Elite Womens race, this time over Rotorua's Gabby Molloy.
Event hosts Mountainbike Otago were happy with the way the event rolled out, and very relieved they didn't have to deal with weather that could have made the action quite different. As a dress rehearsal and shake down for March's Oceania Mountainbike Champs the event ticked all the boxes, and the club can now fine tune their preparations for the Oceanias with good confidence.
The next round of the RaboPlus NZ MTB Cup moves north to Nelson next weekend, with Cross Country racing taking place on Saturday Jan 23rd, and Downhill racing on Sunday Jan 24th.
Results NZ MTB Cup Rounmd Two:
Cross Country
Elite/U23 Men
1 Brendan Sharratt (Christchurch) 2:16; 2 Ethan Glover (U23 Nelson) 2:22; 3 Brent Miller (Christchurch) 2:27
Elite/U23 Women
1 Amy Laird (Christchurch) 1:47; 2 Sara MacDonald (Dunedin) 1:48; 3 Samara Sheppard (U23 Rotorua) 1:49
Elite Men
1 Justin Leov (Dunedin) 2:43.07; 2 Cameron Cole (Christchurch) 2:45.17; 3 Brook MacDonald (Napier) 2:45.61, 4 Matt Scoles (Alexandra) 2:47.99; 5 Wyn Masters (New Plymouth) 2:49.36
Elite Women 
1 Sabrina Jonnier (France) 3:14.28; 2 Gabby Molloy (Rotorua) 3:30.63; 3 Sophie Borderes (France) 3:41.60 
Full results available shortly at MTBNZ

Click to enlarge...
Jonnier makes the NZ Nationals an international affair

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign