CyclingNZ Home
Stuey Confirms for Santos Tour Down Under
24 Dec, 2009

Stuart O’Grady today confirmed that he will compete at the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under in Adelaide.

"As the inaugural Santos Tour Down Under winner in 1999 and a great South Australian sports star, Stuart is a big favourite with the crowds," says Mike Turtur, Santos Tour Down Under Race Director.

"It is always special to watch O’Grady riding in the peloton in his hometown and it is great news that he will be fit enough to ride."

O’Grady is one of the true champions of cycling with a decorated career filled with many victories on the track and road. As a gold medal winning Olympian and the first Australian to ever win the Paris-Roubaix in 2007 he is a force to be reckoned with.

"Stuart’s accomplishments at the Paris-Roubaix and Tour de France should not be forgotten. He’s won Tour de France stages and worn the famous yellow jersey, as well as consistently putting in epic rides to support his teammates," says Mike Turtur.

Once rivals for the Tour de France Green sprinter’s jersey, Baden Cooke will join O’Grady in the Saxo Bank team in 2010.

"Baden is a welcome return and an asset to the spectacle of the race. In 2003, he won the Tour de France green jersey by two points in a tight finish on the Champs-Élysées with McEwen second and O'Grady seventh. It will be interesting to see this friendly Aussie rivalry reunited," says Mike Turtur.

"It is great, as always, to have Jens Voight back racing in Adelaide. He’s a true cycling professional and has massive respect in the peloton."

Team Saxo Bank’s team for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, Brad McGee (AUS), and includes riders:

Anders Lund (DEN) Jens Voight (GER) Baden Cooke (AUS)

Stuart O’Grady (AUS) Jose Juan Haedo (AGR) Frank Høj (DEN)

Kasper Klostergarrd (DEN)

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011 Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign