CyclingNZ Home
Caisse d'Epargne Brings Armada to Adelaide
16 Dec, 2009

Caisse d’Epargne will bring some of Spain’s best cyclists to Adelaide to compete in the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under in January.

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director, Mike Turtur, today announced the full line-up for Caisse d’Epargne, which includes 2009 Vuelta a España winner Alejandro Valverde and Tour de France stage winner Luis León Sánchez Gil.

"Caisse d’Epargne is bringing an impressively strong team with them to Adelaide. With the likes of Valverde, Sánchez and Gutierrez it’s got the calibre of a Grand Tour team," says Mike Turtur.

"There will now be three Grand Tour winners competing at the Santos Tour Down Under – Valverde, Pereiro and Armstrong."

The 2005 winner of the Santos Tour Down Under, Luis León Sánchez Gil, will return to Adelaide after a strong 2009 season.

"Sánchez has had a great year, winning Paris-Nice and a stage of Tour de France," says Mike Turtur.

"As a former winner of our race and a regular here in Adelaide, he’s become a favourite with the crowds and I’m really pleased that he keeps returning.

"There are a lot of riders in this Caisse d’Epargne team who could do well at our race in January. Rojas was impressive here in 2009, winning the Cycle Instead Young Rider Jersey and finishing third in the GC. Rojas will certainly be one to watch in 2010."

The Caisse d’Epargne line-up for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, Neil Stephens (AUS), and includes riders:

Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP) Jose Rojas (ESP)

Ivan Gutierrez (ESP) Jose Garcia (ESP) Mathieu Drujon (FRA)

Mathieu Perget (FRA)

Click to enlarge...
Valv out for best season ever

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Å KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign