CyclingNZ Home
BMC Confirm Team for Tour Down Under
11 Dec, 2009

Team BMC Racing has named an all-star line-up to compete at the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under in South Australia.

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director, Mike Turtur, today announced that reigning World Champion Cadel Evans and Tour de France stalwart George Hincapie will both ride with Team BMC in Adelaide.

"It is great for the race and for Australian cycling fans that Cadel will be returning to ride at the Santos Tour Down Under," says Mike Turtur.

"As the first ever Australian Road World Champion, Cadel will be wearing the Rainbow Jersey with pride as he competes in the first ProTour race of the season.

"Evans brings a wealth of experience in the Grand Tours to his new team and now as World Champion he’ll be primed and ready for the challenges of the 2010 cycling season.

The BMC Racing Team line up for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, John Lelangue (BEL) and includes riders:

Cadel Evans (AUS) George Hincapie (USA) Karsten Kroon (NED)

Danilo Wyss (SUI) Alexander Kristoff (NOR) Mauro Santambrogio (ITA)

Thomas Frei (SUI)

More rider and team announcements will be issued over the coming weeks.

"He has had a lot of success here before, winning the Škoda King of the Mountain Jersey twice, and it will be interesting to see him back tackling the climb at Old Willunga."

Evans won’t be the only superstar lining up for Team BMC Racing, with veteran George Hincapie returning to Adelaide for his second appearance at the event.

"George Hincapie is one of the most recognised riders in the world, with Tour de France stage wins, national championships and professional victories to his credit. He is one of the most respected riders in the peloton," says Mike Turtur.

"Hincapie has got an incredible list of cycling achievements and it’s an honour to host riders of his calibre in South Australia."

Evans and Hincapie will be joined by Kroon, Kristoff and Santambrogio, all five of whom are new signings with Team BMC Racing for the 2010 season.

"As the first race of the season and with so many new riders, it will be interesting to see how they all work together to try to control the peloton," says Mike Turtur.

Mauro Santambrogio joins BMC Team Racing in 2010 from the Lampre-N.G.C. team. He finished eighth overall at the 2009 Santos Tour Down Under.

Click to enlarge...
The Rainbow Warrior Cadel Evans

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011 a
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign