CyclingNZ Home
Subway - Avanti Announce 2010 Roster
10 Dec, 2009

New Zealand’s sole professional road cycling team has settled on its line-up for the 2010 season to

commence January 1st. Re-titled Subway – Avanti Pro Cycling Team will again be registered with world cycling

governing body Union Cycliste Internationale as a UCI Continental team for a second successive term. Each

athlete from the ten-rider roster has signed a contract for its Christchurch-based team owner Off The Front

Promotions Limited that has released four athletes from the 2009 team and signed three new faces.

New Zealand Elite road champion Gordon McCauley (Auckland) remains with the team. McCauley is

considered the country’s most prolific winner having won close to 20 races this year that include the Elite national

title, two rounds of the Benchmark Homes series, and a stage of the PowerNet Tour of Southland. Perhaps his

best result however came in the recent 9-day UCI 2.HC Tour of Hainan in China when he finished fourth overall

and led the team to second in the Team classification ahead of such powerhouse national teams from Russia,

Kazakhstan, Slovenia, Netherlands, and a number of other respected professional teams.

Co-team owner Hayden Godfrey (Christchurch) also remains in the line-up. The 2008 track World champion won

two important events on the 2009 domestic calendar crossing the line first in the North Shore City Grand Prix and

the senior event at the New Zealand Club Championships.

Also retained for his fourth year is Joseph Cooper (Wellington) who won the 10-day Tour of New Caledonia in

September, Eric Drower (Cambridge) who finished second in the same event last year, and current New Zealand

Under 23 Elite road champion James Williamson (Alexandra).

The final two re-signed athletes are 2009 New Zealand Under 23 road and time trial club champion Sam Horgan

(Christchurch) who also won the time trial stage of the New Caledonian event, and rising star Michael Vink

(Christchurch). Eighteen-year old Vink is the national Under 19 time trial champion and recently finished third in

the Festival of Cycling criterium.

New signings to the team that now enters its fifth year in existence are Ryan Wills (Whakatane) fresh from two

years competing professionally in Belgium, talented all-rounder Mathew Gorter (Hamilton), and Nick Lovegrove

(Auckland) who is relatively new to the sport by international standards.

The ten athletes assembled from around the country bring a wealth of experience and various attributes to the

team that will again target New Zealand’s leading road cycling events that include the Elite road

championships, the UCI-ranked 2.2 Tour of Southland and 2.2 Trust House Classic, mass-participation

commercial events, and the eight-round teams-based Benchmark Homes series.

Christchurch Police Sergeant and co-team owner Greg Hume (Lyttelton) continues to manage and direct the


SUBWAY® International Franchisee Advertising Fund (New Zealand) is again the team’s principal

sponsor again joined by bicycle brand Avanti in the title name. Balance nutritional products has returned as a

sub-sponsor after a 12 month absence along with new sub-sponsor Kenda tyres. Champion System remains as

the clothing supplier, as do Specialized helmets remain.

2010 roster

Gordon McCauley

Hayden Godfrey

Joseph Cooper

Eric Drower

James Williamson

Samuel Horgan

Michael Vink

Ryan Wills

Mathew Gorter

Nicholas Lovegrove

Click to enlarge...
More to come, the Peoples Champion finished off 2009 strong in China

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Å KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign