CyclingNZ Home
Alex Ray Champion of Champions
12 Oct, 2009

Under 23 roadie Alex Ray blitzed the Auckland Championship titles yesterday, taking the race overall and in doing so became the new U23 Champion and one to be watched by the elder statesmen of Auckland cycling.

With a vicious attack on the final part of the climb up the Bombay Hill to the finish, the Under 23 rider out sprinted Karl Murray to win the race, but not the senior title. That went to Murray. Ray of course took the Under 23 honours


The race was run over six laps of a course in the Ramarama, Paerata, Runciman area that used to be used for the Auckland 1000, but like all the other events, the last six kms continued south on the Old Great South Road, under the southern motorway and finished with a climb up to Bombay.


The rolling course has a long drag up Burtt Rd towards Paerata and then two short climbs on Tuhimata Rd, before a roller coaster and tailwind plunge down Runciman Rd to the flat section of the 23 kms lap.


Despite the organisers best intentions, several titles were decided by bunch sprints of various sizes.

In the absence of Gordon McCauley chasing prize money in Northland, Murray was dominant right from the start, going away in an early break with Nico de Jong virtually straight from the start.


When a small group bridged up to them on the third lap, their minute advantage disappeared and the rest of the bunch who reacted, with Aaron Strong leading the rest of the contenders back to the front.


Numerous attacks were unsuccessful, but by the last lap a bunch of six had formed, including Murray, Rae, Strong and Carl Williams.


Rae and Murray managed to unload Strong before the final climb up to Bombay and Aaron had to be content with runner-up spot to Murray with Williams third. There was another gap back to visiting Michael Torckler and Sheldon Gorter, who took out the other U23 medals.


The woman’s 4 lap race became one of attrition, that brought a trio to the top of the final climb, with its slightly uphill sprint for those who still had any legs. First year senior Emily Collins still had more than enough petrol in the tank to overcome Mel Burke and Marina Duvnjak.


The Under 19 men’s race saw three Counties Manukau club mates, Scott Mullaly, Fraser Bermingham and Sam Lindsay sprinting for the medals, while Kate Chilcott also had more fast twitch fibres than Lillie Summerville in the U19 women’s event.


And a devastating burst from Gary Ulmer was too much for the combined Masters 5,6 and 7 field in the final 300 metres for him to take the Masters 7 title for another year.


Stu Imrie rode away from the Masters 3 contenders.


Auckland Open Road Cycling Championships


Ramarama – Paerata – Bombay circuit


Men.- Elite, 144 kms: 1, K Murray (Counties Manukau); 2, A Strong (CMC); 3, C Williams (CMC).

Under 23, 144kms: 1, A Rae (CMC); 2, M Torckler (Stratford); 3, S Gorter (Hamilton).

Under 19, 98 kms: 1, S Mullaly (CMC); 2, F Bermingham (CMC); 3, S Lindsay (CMC).

Under 17, 75 kms: 1, A McCory-Bowick (CMC); 2, J Oram (Nth Harb); 3, N Sutton (Stratford).

Under 15, 29 kms: 1, J Hunter (CMC); 2, A Carlier (CMC); 3, S Kirby (CMC).

Masters 1, 98 kms: 1, M Jensen (CMC); 2, C Pulley (CMC); 3, M Cornelius (CMC).

Masters 2, 98 kms: 1, L Johnston (Whangarei); 2, M Jones (Morrinsville); 3, N Hunt (CMC).

Masters 3, 75 kms: 1, S Imrie (CMC); 2, P Bruggeman (CMC); 3, K Moloney (CMC).

Masters 4, 75kms: 1, G Blackwood (CMC); 2, C Faithfull (CMC); 3, A Morrissey (CMC).

Masters 5, 52 kms: 1, W Hudson (Akarana); 2, J Coker (CMC); 3, P Pendry (CMC).

Masters 6, 52 kms: 1, R Tuckey (CMC); 2, P Slocum (CMC); 3, N Jamieson (CMC).

Masters 7, 52 kms: 1, G Ulmer (CMC); 2, B Goldsworthy (Aka); 3, B McCarthy (CMC).


Women.- Elite, 98 kms: 1, E Collins (CMC); 2, M Burke (CMC); 3, M Duvnjak (Nth Harb).

Under 19, 52 kms: 1, K Chilcott (Nth Harb) 2, L Summerville (Nth Harb); 3, A Neems (Aka).

Under 17, 52 kms: 1, G Williams (Nth Harb); 2, G Wilson (Nth Harb); 3, D Van der Sande (CMC).

Under 15, 29 kms: 1, D Hiley (CMC); 2, G Browne (CMC).

Masters,  52 kms:  1, S Clark (CMC); 2, M Sitters (Nth Harb); 3, V Hunter (CMC).

Click to enlarge...
Rae and his trademak attacking style.

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign