CyclingNZ Home
Barry Takes Big Victory at Coffee Culture Le Race
22 Mar, 2015

Dan Barry won todays Coffee Culture Le Race outsprinting Richard Lawson to win in two hours and forty seven minutes.  

Barry (Budget Forklifts) was ‘absolutely stoked’ to grab what he called was an ‘unexpected’ win in the Christchurch to Akaroa 100 kilometre event after he manufactured the days’ key break as riders approached Little River after 25 kilometres of tough winds on the flat.

Tom Hubbard (Breads of Europe All About Plumbing) and Mathew Talbot (Thule) were the first riders to escape the leading bunch, getting away on the Summit Road after the day’s first climb up Dyers Pass.

Battling some strong winds on the flat section after Gebbies Pass that resulted in slower times, the two leaders were eventually caught as the leading bunch swelled to 25 riders with only seven kilometres left before Little River.

“The bunch had slowed up and everyone was just looking at each other,” Barry said. “So we took the opportunity to sneak away and got a little bit of a lead before the climb up Hill Top and then worked really hard together and managed to hold on to it.”

Lawson (TotalPOS Solutions) threw in an attack on the one of the final short steep climbs before the fast six kilometre descent into Akaroa, gaining a short lead that Barry managed to claw back just before turning off the Summit Road and heading downhill towards the finish.

The lead changed several times on the steep six kilometre decent before the two riders turned into the main street of Akaroa where Barry was first to open up his sprint crossing the line three seconds ahead of Lawson.

Barry’s Budget Forklift’s team mate and 2012 winner Sam Horgan held off Sam Lindsay (Total POS) to finish third, just over one minute and thirty seconds behind the two leaders.

Defending champion Keagan Girdlestone missed the key break heading into Little River and had to settle for eleventh, finishing just over four minutes behind the winners.  

2013 women’s winner and last year’s runner up Sharlotte Lucas (Benchmark Homes) won the women’s event in dominating style, winning both the Coffee Culture Queen of the Mountain climbs in convincing fashion, beating Georgia Catterick (Cycle World Fairweather) from Marlborough by over two minutes, winning in three hours and eight minutes.

Lucas, who has been recovering from a crash in late February’s Trust House women’s tour of New Zealand, was ‘really happy’ to win saying the race was made especially tough due to some strong winds at times.

“It was a really hard race,” she said. “The winds made it a tough day but I just rode my own race. I didn’t see any other women during the race so realised I was leading so just keep it going as hard as I could.”

Lucas appreciated some support from some of the male riders, singling out Richard Hayman who she said was ‘really helpful’ in the closing stages.

The Ross Bush Memorial Trophy - awarded to the first under 17 rider home - honours the Canterbury cycling icon and earthquake victim it is named after. It was won by 16 year old Kees Duyvesteyn (L & M Racing) who was sixteenth overall finishing in a time of two hours and 53 minutes. 



1              DANIEL BARRY                                   02:47:56

2              RICHARD LAWSON                            02:47:59

3              SAM HORGAN                                     02:49:35

4              SAM LINDSAY                                     02:49:45

5              CALLUM GORDON                             02:49:46

6              TIM RUSH                                             02:50:03

7              LIAM AITCHESON                              02:50:07

8              THOMAS HUBBARD                          02:50:42

9              BRODIE CATTERICK                          02:51:20

10           ADAM BULL                                         02:52:09



1              SHARLOTTE LUCAS                          03:08:26

2              GEORGIA CATTERICK                       03:10:35

3              ELYSE FRASER                                   03:12:06

4              JULIA GRANT                                      03:12:38

5              MADDI CAMPBELL                            03:15:32

6              HALEY MERCER                                 03:19:10

7              JENNIFER HASKELL                         03:23:01

8              ALYSHA KEITH                                    03:24:10

9              MICHELLE GAMMIE-CATTERICK   03:24:59

10           JEANNIE BLAKEMORE                     03:27:25


Ross Bush Memorial Trophy; Kees Duyvesteyn



1              TotalPOS Solutions Red                    08:29:04               

2              L&M Group                                           08:48:09               

3              THULE                                                   08:53:59               

4              Armitage Williams Blue Wall            09:04:09               

5              Modus Construct Trade Team          09:04:57


Click to enlarge...
Dan Barry pumps the air at le Race - Courtesy Bruce Wilson Photography

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign