CyclingNZ Home

Stayers Cup

Laykold Cup

Poneke Plate

Jordan Takes out Laykold Cup
16 Feb, 2015

New Zealand representative Jordan Castle (Bike Manawatu) played his cards perfectly to win the prestigious Laykold Cup held at the Wellington Velodrome on Sunday February 15, out sprinting Dan Waluszewski (Wellington) and James Denholm (West Coast North Island) at the end of a tactical race.

Now held as a 10km scratch, the Laykold Cup has a history running more than 80 years and is one of the North Island's classic track cycling events with a full programme of supporting events taking place during the day.

With the field more or less intact at third distance, attacks began coming thick and fast with Wellington's Waluszewski and George Jackson breaking off the front to open up a healthy lead. The bunch behind whittled down as the pace went on to close the gap to the escapees. With six laps to go there were just five riders left together at the front, and Pat Crowe-Rishworth made his bid for glory.

It wasn't to be however, and led by Bike Manawatu's Castle, Crowe-Rishworth was overhauled in the final 100m. Despite leading out, Castle's rapid sprint was too much for Waluszewski and Denholm.

Nick Warren retained the Masters 8km Stayers Cup with a hard-fought win over Jason McCarty (both Wellington). The duo chipped away from the bunch with six laps left on the board and opened up a comfortable margin. However, with two laps remaining, cat and mouse tactics came into play with McCarty forcing Warren to lead the final sprint out. Warren kicked hard though and McCarty wasn't able to come round, finishing just half a wheel behind. Harry Kent was third.

Sophie Bloxham (Levin) became the first under 17 rider to win the Women's 8km Poneke Plate, firing out of the peloton on the final lap and crossing the line two clear bike lengths ahead of 2009 champion Hannah Latta (Wellington). Amy Horn was third ahead of Sarah Barclay.

In the junior omniums, George Jackson won the under 17 boys ahead of his Wellington team pursuit team mates Sam Tillotson and Thomas McCullum. Sophie Bloxham headed up the under 17 girls with Amy Horn and Grace Saywell in second and third respectively.

In the under 15s, Damian Hussey (Wanganui) rode strongly to win ahead of Wellington's Louis Hodgkinson and Ben Buyuk while Amelia Taylor (Wellington) won the girls. Ben Leslie and Matt McCarty were joint winners of the under 13 ominium, and Zoe Perry won the under 13 girls ahead of Maia Vertongen.

A huge thanks to our sponsors:
Salvation CoffeeWellington Windows and Doors, Wellington Powder Coaters, Red Rocks Property ManagementZeal Commercial Interiors, Scotties Potties, Think TurfWellington Podiatry ClinicThe Lanes Bar and Bowling LoungeBurkes CyclesJackson


Photos PNP Cycling Club:

Laykold1 - Pat Crowe-Rishworth leads Jordan Castle and James Denholm in the Laykold Cup 10km Scratch Race at Wellington Velodrome, February 15.


Laykold 2 - Jordan Castle leads what remains of the field into the deciding stages of the Laykold Cup.


StayersCup - The Masters bunch taking part in the 8km Stayers Cup Scratch Race at Wellington Velodrome, February 15. Nick Warren (in second) went on to win.


Poneke Plate - The women's peloton during the Poneke Plate 8km Scratch Race at the Wellington Velodrome 2015. Sophie Bloxham​ (yellow and blue Levin skinsuit) went on to win.

Click to enlarge...
Laykold cup - what a view!

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
a Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign