CyclingNZ Home
Drapac's Clarke Shines as Most Competitive Rider at TDU
22 Jan, 2015
Drapac Professional Cycling’s William Clarke delivered an instrumental attack in Stage 3 of Santos Tour Down Under, establishing a day long break to earn Most Competitive Rider. Rohan Dennis (BMC) took the stage victory with Cadel Evans (BMC) second and Tom Dumoulin (TGA) third.
Clarke launched at 3km and was joined by fellow Australian Calvin Watson (Trek Racing), Lasse Norman Hansen (Cannondale-Garmin) and Axel Domont (AG2R La Mondiale) at 9km.
“I wanted to go pretty early today. I felt good and we got rolling nicely as a group. I am pleased with today and I gave what I had. It was good to open the legs up a bit and go up the road and I am happy about getting the sprints,” Clarke said.
The quartet then built out a lead on the peloton that hovered around 3 minutes for the next 100km.
“All in all it was a good day today. I am pleased we were in the break and Will rode strong all day,” Tom Southam, Sports Director, said. “Will gave today exactly what we asked him to do and rode aggressively.”
Clarke, in his 5th appearance at Santos Tour Down Under, won the first and second iiNET Sprint (67km and 93km) ahead of Hansen and Domont. Domont then dropped off just before the final sprint of the day. Clarke took the third sprint with Hansen and Watson behind him. Not long after the sprint line, Hansen fell back and Watson followed soon after. Clarke rode solo for the next 10km before being swallowed up by a charging peloton.
Clarke is no stranger to the breakaway attack having won the 2012 Stage 2 of Tour Down Under in Stirling on an all-day breakaway.
Drapac’s highest place GC rider, Travis Meyer started the day in 31st and was positioned with the peloton as they tackled the final climb of the day.
“I felt good leading into the bottom of the final climb. I was perfectly positioned behind Sky and Greenedge but unfortunately didnt have the legs to follow the big guns,” Meyer said. Meyer finished the day at +2’32”.
Drapac’s Tim Rowe suffered a puncture with 5km to go and unfortunately lost valuable time, dropping his hopes for a high placing finish for the day.
“It was unlucky for Tim to puncture when he did. You can't stop it from happening but it's disappointing when it does. He was riding well today and it is just unfortunate,” Southam added.
Jordan Kerby was today’s top finisher for the team at  +1’59”.
Tomorrow’s 144km stage takes the peloton up Sellicks Hill before sprints are contested at Ashbourne and Macclesfield.
Results Snap Stage 3 Santos Tour Down Under
Classification Results 3 –
1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC
56. Jordan Kerby (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 01'59"
69. Travis Meyer (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  02'32"
81. Timothy Roe (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  03'14"
87. Martin Kohler (SUI) Drapac Professional Cycling 03'31"
114. William Clarke (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 07'37"
118. Graeme Brown (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 07'52"
131. Wouter Wippert (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling 11'35"
General Classification 3 –
1. DENNIS Rohan (AUS) BMC  10h17'06"
53. Travis Meyer (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h19'48"
59. Timothy Roe (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h20'30"
92. William Clarke (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h25'35"
106. Martin Kohler (Sui) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h30'37"
110. Graeme Brown (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h32'24"
120. Jordan Kerby (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  10h39'09"
130. Wouter Wippert (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling 10h48'27"
Teams Classification 3
1.  BMC RACING TEAM   30h52'12" 00"
19. DRAPAC PROFESSIONAL CYCLING   31h00'07" 07'55"

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011 Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign