CyclingNZ Home

winding their way up limeworks

Thrilling Finale for Trusthouse North Island Series
4 Dec, 2014

The Trust House North Island cycling series is set for a thrilling finale this weekend, with overall victory in the Series on the line. 

With just three points separating series leader Sam Horgan (Bike Manawatu) and Dan Waluszewski (Rivet Racing Team), in the men’s elite, a postrace tie-breaker may be required to determine the overall series winner.

A top two finish for Horgan will clinch the series title, however if Waluszewski takes the win, he will need Horgan to finish no higher than third to steal the crown. 

If the pair finishes on equal points, the Series will be awarded to the rider who secured more overall podium places throughout the Series, which would be Horgan.

Either way, they must ensure to finish the race, if not, New Zealand multi champion Gordon McCauley currently in third place could be the 2015 Series champion, he is currently in third position.

Spicing up the race is the L&M Group RICOH New Zealand team riding the series only for the second time.  The team is made up of some of the best New Zealand riders and this weekend will include 2012 New Zealand National Champion James Williamson, Nick Logreve and Antony Chapman.

A late entry of top New Zealand professional rider Michael Torckler, winner of the 2010 New Zealand Cycle Classic will also add to the outcome of the race.

“Having the L&M boys in the race may change race tactics, any of their riders are capable of winning the race.  This will suit Horgan who can let other riders go up the road while he concentrates in marking Waluszewski.  The cards are on Waluszewski team to be aggressive and attack Horgan, this is the beauty of team’s racing.” says race director Jorge Sandoval.

The action in the 34-44 masters grade is also close.

There are five riders from five different teams with just 11 points separating them. 

Stephen Sheldrake (Team East Coast Velo) and Mark Donald (Capital Cycles) have both won two races each while Stewart Holder (Signature Homes) John Randall (Rivet Racing) and Hannes Venter (Total Home Theatre) are ready to step up and go for the overall win.

In the Masters 45-49 and 50 plus, two riders have proven to be the strongest from race one, Craig Hosking in the 45-49 and Wellington David Meo in the 50 plus grade, both of them only need to finish to win their age groups competition.

Wairarapa Brett Tulloch (Tararua Builders racing) could jump into third place in the overall list if he has a good race and manages to beat Robin Kilvington (Capital Cycles).

In the women’s race, there has been only one leader since race one, Kerry Anne-Page (RamblersCC) she is set to win her first title in the series.

Race organiser Jorge Sandoval is already looking forward to the 2015 series.

“I ‘been pleasantly surprised by the number of people that have taken part in the first Trust House series.  Over 245 riders have entered the races - a good problem to have- but with riders of so many different abilities, especially in the master’s grades, we must ensure that something is done next year to reduce fields in each master’s grade to encourage them to race harder and safely.”

This weekend race will start and finish from Matahiwi Estate; riders will ride towards Eketahuna via Whangaehu Valley Rd and Route 52 before returning to the finish via Dreyers Rock Rd, Maureceville, Kopuaranga.

Members of the public are invited to come and watch the finish outside Matahiwi Estate around 1.00pm

Click to enlarge...
Michael looking sharp in Yellow

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign