CyclingNZ Home
Perry Clean Sweeps Burkes Speed League
10 Nov, 2014
Grant Perry achieved a clean sweep of all A grade races plus the mixed grade Team Scratch at the Burkes Cycles Speed League track racing meeting at Wellington Velodrome in Hataitai on Sunday November 9, 2014 to take the lead overall. 

It's only the second time a sweep in the A grade has been completed in the history of the Speed League - the other was by Louis Higgison last season. This time it was Higgison who had to settle for runner up, finishing second in the 10 lap Scratch and 12 lap Points Race, unable to match Perry's startling early season form. 

The final race of the afternoon, the 20 lap Team Scratch - where riders are randomly grouped together into teams and all score the same points as their highest finisher - again proved to be a thriller. Perry's yellow team effectively shut down any attacks and he sealed the deal in the bunch gallop for the line. 

Meanwhile Henry Tate won three D grade events to head up the under 13 table, edging out Amelia Taylor each time, with May Hodgkinson, Jake Leslie and Zoe Perry scooping up the minor placings. The D grade is expanding steadily and sure to provide more exciting racing as the season progresses. 

Grace Saywell and Mark Coburn engaged in a number of close-fought battles in the C grade, with Saywell getting the better of her older rival in the Scratch and Points race but missing out in the Sprinters' Scratch. Saywell now leads the under 15 overall league table. 

In a large and lively B grade, under 15 rider George Jackson picked up two wins in his first Burkes Cycles Speed League outing of the season, but lost out to Jamie Thynne in the Sprinters' Scratch. Sam Tillotson, also under 15, was third in the 8 lap Scratch and Sprinters' Scratch and was part of Perry's winning team in the Team Scratch. 

Capital Cycles Dame Truth extended their lead in the Zeal Commercial Interiors Teams' classification with the addition of George Jackson and Sam Tillotson to their roster. 

Senior/ Under 19: Grant Perry (37 points) 
Female: Lisa Hunkin (27 points) 
Under 17: Sam Tillotson (21 points) 
Under 15: George Jackson (17 points) 
Under 13: Henry Tate (20 points) 

Zeal Commercial Interiors Teams: Capital Cycles Dame Truth (71 points) 

The next round of the Burkes Cycles Speed League takes place on Sunday November 16 at Wellington Velodrome, and features the first round of The Lanes Sprint Ace contest. Here's the programme.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign