CyclingNZ Home
Sky The Limit for Avanti Racing
24 Jul, 2014

With the second half of the National Road Series looming the Avanti Racing Team are keen to take up where they left off and keep the wins rolling. A dominant first half of the season with numerous stage victories and overall wins at the Tour De Perth, Battle of The Border and Tour of Toowomba see the team top the national rankings in both the team and individual competitions. With the departure of Jack Haig to the World Tour Academy and Joe Cooper still recovering from a broken pelvis sustained at the Tour of Toowomba the team will look to it’s other talent to take the bull by the horns for the upcoming Tour of Murray River.


“Spoilt for choice” is the term that comes to mind with the Murray River squad spearheaded by standout sprinter Brenton Jones, winner of the Jayco Bay Series and more recently two stages at the Tour of Singkarak in Indonesia. Add in Neil Van Der Ploeg fresh off a solid Tour of Korea, stalwart sprinter and lead out man Anthony Giacoppo, National scratch race champion Scott Law and the dangerously talented Jack Beckinsale and you have numerous options for stage wins and the overall. Backed by the experienced lead out train of Tom Robinson, Mitch Lovelock-Fay and Aaron Donnelly and you have a team that on paper at least, should be hard to beat. Team manager Andrew Christie-Johnston is cautious but optimistic about the teams chances “This race isn’t easy to win but we are quietly confident that we can get the job done” he said. “Losing Joe through injury is tough and with Budget keen to get some more runs on the board we know we won’t have it all our own way. We’ll approach it the same way we always do and just let our legs and results do the talking.”


The rest of the team will get their chance with the tours of Gippsland and the Great South Coast still to come while the pinnacle of the national series, The Tour of Tasmania will be the icing on the cake and if everything goes to plan should see the team with an unassailable lead in the series which should allow some freedom to go all out for the win in the two one day classics, Grafton to Inverell and the iconic Melbourne to Warnambool.


Sponsors of the Avanti Racing Team include Avanti Bikes, Praties, Shimano, Giro, Torq Nutrition, Champion Systems, Motion, Adidas Eyewear, BioCeuticals, Kenda tyres, Park Tools, Easton, Zero, High Sierra, Rocktape, and Premax.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia Tour de Femme
Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign