CyclingNZ Home
van Velthooven in Favoured Event
15 Mar, 2014

The world championship medallist, fresh from battle in last night’s sprints, returned to the fray in the keirin events on the third morning session at the BikeNZ Track Cycling National Championships in Cambridge today.

Olympic bronze medallist in this event, Simon van Velthooven dominated his heat, and joining him among the eight riders who automatically progress to tonight’s semifinals were the world championship winning trio of Sam Webster, Ethan Mitchell and Eddie Dawkins along with their BikeNZ High Performance teammate Matt Archibald.

The others to join them after another enterprising session at the new Avantidrome were Mid South Canterbury’s Daniel Rafferty and the Southland pair of Ben Stewart and Jeremy Presbury.

The four winners of the repechage races to join them in the semifinals were Zac Williams (Auckland), Greg Potter (Auckland), Karl Watson (Southland) and Fabian Wybrow (Southland).

The leading trio of women’s sprinters also progressed comfortably in the keirin including heat winner Natasha Hansen (Southland), the 500mm time trial champion Katie Schofield (Otago) and last night’s sprint winner Stephanie Mckenzie (Southland).

Joining them in tonight’s final is Racquel Sheath (Waikato BOP) and Christchurch sisters Elizabeth and Victoria Steel.

Tonight features the semifinals and finals of the under-19 sprints, the semifinals and final of the keirin, the under-19 points race, the elite women’s scratch race and elite men’s points race.

The championship concludes tomorrow.

Click to enlarge...
Action at the Avantidrome - credit Dianne Manson

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
The 2018 Downhill and Cross Country World Cups came to a climax this weekend with the final round of racing in France. We saw great season-ending placings for Fizik saddle riders: Loris Vergier took 4th and Luca Shaw 8th in the Downhill, while Lars Forster 4th, Stephane Tempier 6th and Titouan >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011 Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2019 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign