CyclingNZ Home
Records Tumble at BikeNZ Track Nationals
11 Mar, 2014

A world champion and a former Olympian set the standards as records tumbled in the BikeNZ Age GroupTrack Cycling Championship in Invercargill.

Local Southland rider Erin Criglington, the current age group World Champion in the individual pursuit, rode superbly in the womenís masters 1 division to win five titles. She won the 2000m individual pursuit, the keirin, the 4000m scratch race and the 500m Time Trial, as well as winning the Team Sprint with teammate Cherie Champion.

Meanwhile former Olympian and Commonwealth Games medallist Jon Andrews set two new national records in the menís Masters 2 age group.

Andrews, riding for Southland but now living in Wanaka, clocked 34.843s to take more than a second off the previous record in the 500m time trial. Andrews, seventh in the kilo at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics and double bronze medallist at the 1990 Commonwealth Games in Auckland, also set a new record of 50.161s to win the 750m team sprint with Brett Roulston and Roger Nicholas.

Invercargill local Neil Familton and Aucklandís Richard Justice both went under the old national record in their qualifying rides in the masters 3 individual pursuit, with Familton edging out Justice for the gold in the final. In his first year racing in masters 3, Familton also took the national title in the 7.5km points race.

This age group proved exceptionally strong with Aucklandís Russell Scott breaking his own national record in the 500m time trial, setting the fastest time of 35.558s.

In the junior ranks, Palmerston North rider Campbell Stewart dominated in the under 17 category for the second year, winning titles in virtually all of his events.

Meanwhile the Southland quartet of Tom Sexton, Brayden Stephens, Hayden Strong and Hamish Beadle combined to win the under-17 3000m team pursuit, setting a new record of 3:24.44, demolishing the former record by nearly three seconds at the SIT Zero Fees Velodrome.

Hosts Southland dominated the five-day meet to now take a healthy lead in the National Points Shield into the national elite championships that begin in Cambridge on Wednesday.

Southland is on 94 points ahead of West Coast North Island 45, Auckland 27, Canterbury 25, Tasman and Mid South Canterbury on 7, Waikato Bay of Plenty and East Coast North Island on 3 and Otago 2.

Click to enlarge...
Erin Criglington takes out 5 titles - Credit Dianne Manson

Latest News
Last month‚Äôs ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend‚Äôs double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. ‚ÄúThe weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo ‚Ä" Visma‚Äôs Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik‚Äôs 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Dr√īme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Tour de Femme
Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign