CyclingNZ Home
BikeNZ Age Group Track Nationals Omnium
8 Mar, 2014

Competition continued at the BikeNZ Age Group & Omnium Track National Championships yesterday.

The first two U19 Menís and Womenís Omnium events occurred during the morning session, along with 2000m Individual Pursuit qualifying events for Masters 1 & 2 Women and U17 Men and Women. A couple of U15 Points Race Heats completed the morning programme, leaving the evening clear for a series of exciting finals.

Riding for bronze in the Masters 2 Women 2000m IP were Sonya Barton and Glenda Bruce, with Barton managing to edge Bruce out for the minor medal. The gold ride saw Megan Blatchford take on Shona McGrath. Blatchford built a steady lead to win gold, with McGrath taking silver.

In the Masters 1 Women 2000m IP, Nicole Stevens won bronze against Rachel Sime, and Erin Criglington did the rainbow jersey proud, taking gold in a race against Kylea Gough.

The U17 2000m Individual Pursuit race finals did not disappoint, with Ellesse Andrews taking bronze against Canterburyís Christine Lambley. A strong start saw Michaela Drummond lead after the first lap in the ride off for gold against Madeleine Park. Park managed to close the gap slightly, but Drummond powered away again to win with a 2.686 second advantage.

Riding for U17 Menís bronze were Came Groube and Joshua Scott. The finish was very tight, with Groube just managing to take the minor medal. Battling for gold were Campbell Stewart and Tom Sexton, and Stewart was the victor with 2:19.795, a time just outside the current New Zealand record.

In the U15 Womenís Points Race 5km final, Sophie Bloxham took gold with 10pts, Jenna Merrick silver with 8pts, and Samantha Ogle 7pts for bronze.

The U15 Menís Points Race 7.5km final was won by Corbin Strong. Jamie Leitch took silver and George Jackson bronze. Early contender Hamish Keast suffered a puncture with just 5 laps left to go.

In the Masters 3 Menís 7.5km Points Race, Neil Familton took gold on 15pts, Graham Bunn the silver with 9pts and Ray Robinson bronze with 3pts. It was Garry Smith who won gold with 15pts in the Masters 2 Menís 15km Points Race final, with Craig Scott collecting silver on 14pts, and Brett Slater the bronze on 10pts.

In the Masters 1 Menís 20km Points Race Final, commissaires had to re-watch video footage to determine placings. Solid throughout the race, Reon Park was confirmed as the winner, with Stu Crooks taking silver and Andrew Lienert bronze.

The third Omnium events for U19 Men and Women, the Elimination, were the final events of the night Ė weíre currently waiting on the leaderboard results, and a Points Shield update.

The Age Group & Omnium Track National Championships continues through to Sunday.

Click to enlarge...
Erin Criglington Celebrates - Credit Dianne Manson

Latest News
Last month‚Äôs ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend‚Äôs double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. ‚ÄúThe weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo ‚Ä" Visma‚Äôs Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik‚Äôs 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Dr√īme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign