CyclingNZ Home
Williamson Takes Impressive Elite Womens Title
20 Apr, 2013 - BikeNZ

Riders had to overcome wintry conditions as well as a demanding course on day three of the BikeNZ Club Road National Championships in Queenstown today.

Blustery winds, rain, and cold temperatures made for a tough day on the bike, as riders battled it out for national champion titles on the road.

Central Otago-Wakatipu local Sophie Williamson seemed to dismiss the tough conditions, riding impressively to claim the elite women's title in convincing fashion, after making a decisive breakaway with Ashleigh Neave of Ramblers Cycling Club just after the halfway mark in the race.

Williamson then cleared out to take a solo victory with a winning margin of over a minute.

Aucklander Racquel Sheath (North Harbour Cycling Club) managed to snatch third place in a bunch sprint, crossing the line nearly five minutes behind Williamson.

Despite being an Alexandra local, Willliamson said the conditions added to the suffering on an already challenging course

"It was just freezing, I can't feel my toes," Williamson said. "It was a tough day for everyone. I don't think you can get used to this weather. It's not much fun to ride in at all, all you can do is give it a nudge at get it over and done with as fast as possible."

Williamson said she wasn't feeingl at her best on the start line, but was pleased with how the race unfolded.

"My plan was always to attack and make it a hard race and see what happens. I didn't know that that attack was going to make it but we just kept it steady and it turned out it did.

"You never know how your legs are going to go during the race, so you just see what you can do."

The under 19 women's race finished in a tight sprint between Devon Hiley and Robin Hacker-Carey, with Hiley edging her way for the win. Maddi Campbell won the bunch sprint to take third.

The men also featured during racing today, with David Rowlands of Port Nicholson Poneke Cycling Club taking out the men's masters two race after a solo breakaway in the second half of the race. Rowlands was trailed by Peter Murphy and Kevin Strongman, both of Gisborne Cycling Club, who crossed the line just over a minute behind.

Stratford Cycling Club's Mel Titter out-sprinted Cameron Alexander (Timaru Cycling Club) and Stu Crooks (Cycling Otago) to win the men's masters two race
Racing concludes tomorrow with the elite and under-23 men's race, as well as master four and six men, hand bikes, and men's paracycling.

Provisional results:

Under 19 women:  Devon Hiley (Counties Manukau) 2:19:02.96, 1; Robin Hacker-Carey (Te Awamutu) 2:19:03.04, 2; Maddi Campbell (Pegasus Cycling) 2:19:42.54, 3.

Elite women: Sophie Williamson (Central Otago-Wakatipu) 3:01:07.93, 1; Ashleigh Neave (Ramblers) 3:02:11.03, 2; Racquel Sheath (North Harbour) 3:06:04.87, 3.

Master 1 men: Mel Titter (Stratford) 2:58:52.96, 1; Cameron Alexander (Timaru) 2:58:53.02, 2; Stu Crooks (Cycling Otago) 2:58:53.14, 3.

Master 1 women: Jeannie Blackmore (Pegasus Cycling) 2:29:10.47, 1; Kerry-Ann Harris (Counties Manukau Cycling) 2:34:47.21, 2; Renita van der Helm (Port Nicholson Poneke) 2:40:51.37, 3.

Master 2 women: Erin Criglington (Cycling Southland) 2:28:28.14, 1; Tammy Harvey (Counties Manukau Cycling) 2:28:29.23, 2; Shirlene Rollo (Cycling Southland) 2:36:20.22; 3.

Master 2 men: David Rowlands (Port Nicholson Poneke) 2:42:50.30, 1; Peter Murphy (Gisborne) 2:43:56:66, 2; Kevin Strongman (Gisborne) 2:44:00.37, 3.

Master 3 men: Geoff Keogh (Cycling Otago) 2:49:06.59, 1; Mark Spessot (Cycling Otago) 2:49.06.72, 2; Michael Jones (Morrinsville Wheelers) 2:49:11.85, 3;

Master 3 women: Tracy Clark (Pegasus Cycling) 1:39:45.25, 1; Tania Radman (Tasman Wheelers) 1:39:46.51, 2; Toni Hoskin (Gisborne) 1:40:27.30, 3.

Master 4 women: Judy Ross (Pegasus Cycling) 1:40:36.70, 1; Sara Harnett (Pegasus Cycling) 1:40:38.28, 2; Dianna Borman (Kapiti) 1:40:40.37, 3.

Master 5 women: Lesley Mouat (Athletics Masterton) 1:38:17.81, 1; Mary Jones (Pegasus Cycling) 1:38:50.91, 2; Anne Kerr (Papanui) 1:39:57.49, 3.

Master 6 women: Denese Keenan (Cycling Timaru) 1:39:59.30, 1; Lori Slattery (Pegasus Cycling) 1:41:40.63, 2; Rosalie Nicolson (Pegasus Cycling) 1:49:20.88, 3.

Master 7 women: Christine van Hoppe (Tasman Wheelers) 1:52:33:86, 1; Jan MacPherson (Central Otago Wakatipu) 2:03:03.01, 2.

Click to enlarge...
Credit: Fallon Photography- Devon Hiley takes it to the U19s

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign