CyclingNZ Home
Webster Strikes Gold in Invercargill
1 Feb, 2013

Auckland's Sam Webster prevailed from the bevy of world class sprinters to claim the mens sprint title on the second night of finals at the national track cycling championships in Invercargill.
The 21 year old, who missed out on a spot in the team for the London Olympics, showed the speed and nous to prevail over Southland comer Matt Archibald in two-straight rides in the best of three finals.
Meanwhile 19 year old Stephanie McKenzie, in just her second year in the elite ranks, upset Southland compatriot and Olympian Natasha Hansen 2-0 in the womens final. It was an outstanding result for McKenzie, who won four world junior championship medals.
It marked an impressive day of world class performances from the burgeoning group of BikeNZ sprinters who have set some sizzling performances amid the sweltering conditions at Stadium Southland Velodrome.
The standards were set in the morning qualifying where three men went under the previous New Zealand record in the sprint.
Yesterday's 250m time trial champion Ethan Mitchell (Auckland) set the standard in a personal best of 10.140 before Archibald, who clocked a remarkable 9.937s at altitude in the Mexico World Cup two weeks ago, was first under the previous record with a 10.101s.
Southland compatriot Eddie Dawkins edged that with an outstanding 10.074 before Webster (Auckland) regained his own record when he went fastest with a 10.074.
Webster, a triple junior world champion, proved too classy for his close mate Mitchell 2-0 in one semifinal while Archibald prevailed in the all-Southland semi over Dawkins.
Webster displayed pure class and outstanding race craft to take the final over Archibald in two straight rides.
National record holder Hansen (Southland), beaten in both the 250m and 500m time trials yesterday, bounced back with an impressive 11.261s to qualify top in the women's sprints ahead of Otago's Katie Schofield (11.653) and Southlands Stephanie McKenzie (11.414).
Hansen was too strong for multi world junior medallist Paige Paterson (Auckland) in one semifinal while McKenzie had too much power for Schofield in the other semi.
McKenzie came from behind to pip Hansen near the line in the first final and proved too strong in the second race for her first national elite individual title.
Day 2 finals:
Men Sprint qualifying: Sam Webster (Auckland) 10.058, 1 (NZ record); Eddie Dawkins (Southland) 10.074, 2; Matt Archibald (Southland) 10.101, 3; Ethan Mitchell (Auckland) 10.140, 4.
Quarterfinals: Webster bt Dylan Kennett (Mid South Canterbury), Dawkins bt Shane Archbold (Mid South Canterbury), Archibald bt Tom Beadle (Southland), Mitchell bt Simon Van Velthooven (Auckland).
Semifinals (best of 3): Webster bt Mitchell 2-0, Archibald bt Dawkins 2-0.
Third/Fourth: Dawkins bt Mitchell 2-0.
Final (best of 3: Webster bt Archibald 2-0.
Women Sprint qualifying: Natasha Hansen (Southland) 11.261, 1; Stephanie McKenzie (Southland) 11.414, 2; Katie Schofield (Otago) 11.653, 3; Paige Paterson (Auckland) 11.815, 4.
Quarterfinals: Hansen bt Kirstie James (Otago), McKenzie bt Kate Dudley (West Coast North Island), Schofield bt Victoria Steel (Canterbury), Paterson bt Henrietta Mitchell (Auckland).
Semifinals (best of 3): Hansen bt Paterson 2-0, McKenzie bt Schofield 2-0.
Third/Fourth: Schofield bt Paterson 2-0.
Final: Mckenzie bt Hansen 2-0.
Women 2000m individual pursuit, gold medal ride: Laura Heywood (Southland) 2:31.151, 1; Holly Edmondston (Canterbury) 2:33.511, 2. Bronze medal ride: Maxyna Cottam (West Coast North Island) 2:33.270, 3; Lauren Hobson (Auckland) 2:35.067, 4.
Men 3000m individual pursuit, gold medal: Alex Hooper (Mid South Canterbury) 3:24.789, 1; Connor Stead (Canterbury) 3:31.054, 2. Bronze medal: Regan Gough (East Coast North Island) 3:24.219, 3; Josh Haggerty (Southland) 3:28.240, 4.
Women Keirin: Lauren Hobson (Auckland) 1, Alice Hay (Canterbury) 2, Shannon Grinter (Waikato BOP) 3.
Men Keirin: Jeremy Presbury (Southland) 1, Reon Sheath (East Coast North Island) 2, Ryan Berney (East Coast North Island) 3.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite a
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign