CyclingNZ Home
Burkes Cycles Speed League Round 6
18 Dec, 2012

Liam Sherlock moved into the overall lead in the under 15s competition after he won two events and rode cunningly in the final 15-lap handicap at the Burkes Cycles Speed League Round 6.

Given a near-lap headstart as a C grade rider, Sherlock jumped onto the back of the A graders on the gun, along with William Findlay, and held on for five laps to his much older rivals before dropping back. However, once picked up again by the A grade so that all were on the same lap, Sherlock was able to stay with them, and got up for the sprint finishing fourth behind Steve Chapman, Mark Coburn and Jake Jamieson.

Along with the mid-race prime where he was second to Findlay, Sherlock also won the C grade 6 lap Scratch and 2 lap Sprinters' Scratch. He now wears the under 15s Champion System leader's jersey with 48 points ahead of Ollie Wood.

In the seniors, former professional Pete Latham won three out of four A grade events, with series leader Nick Warren second on each occasion. Steve Chapman won the handicap Catch 'Em If You Can ahead of Russell Fairbrass and Jon Barnes.

Mark Coburn won the B grade 8 lap Scratch attacking on the bell, gaining a few bike lengths' lead and holding off the charge from Jed McDermott and Grant Perry. McDermott went on to win the Sprinters Scratch with Ione Johnson second and Jake Jamieson third.

Latham teamed up with under 17 leader Jon Barnes and fellow juniors Zac Blakely, Ben Humphries and McDermott in the team scratch. The team worked well together and at the finale, Blakely launched with 200m to go and led around the final bend, however Latham and Warren managed to sprint round in the closing metres.

The Burkes Cycles Speed League takes a break but returns on January 20, 2013 with round 7.

Current overall leaders after Round 6 and wearers of the Champion System leaders' jerseys are:
Senior: Nick Warren (77pts)
Female: Holly Blakely (41pts)
Under 17: Jon Barnes (80pts)
Under 15: Liam Sherlock (48pts)

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley ŠKODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign