CyclingNZ Home
1 Oct, 2012

The New Zealand Schools Road Cycling Championships wrapped up in gusty conditions today with points races at the Manfeild Auto Course in Manawatu.

Devon Hiley (St Cuthbert’s College) broke away early in the 24km women’s under-20 points race and stayed away to win every sprint contest and a national title.

“It was a tough race but I had a few of the girls working to keep the bunch together and help me stay out front so that was good,” said Hiley.
“I’d figured out after winning the first three sprints that I could sit up [and still win] but the guy on the motorbike kept saying ‘don’t give up now, you’re 44secs ahead’ so I pushed it hard all the way to the end.”

“I didn’t expect to win; I was hoping for a medal so this [winning] is so nice; I’m quite proud actually.”

It was a tough day for riders across all 12 age-grades as a howling wing made life on the bike very difficult.

“It was windy which was pretty difficult but thankfully all the supporters were on the home straight where we were into the headwind so that made it easier,” said Hiley.

The 39km under-20 men’s points race was a tighter affair with just five points separating the top three riders. Corby Price (Hamilton Boys HS) was crowned national champion on the back of wins in the first and fourth sprints.

“I didn’t even realise I was in contention to win while I was riding, but I hoped to be on the podium,” said Price.

“I generally leave the first sprint because it tends to be the most heated but I got in a good position and just went for it.

“It was quite a surprise to win as a ‘first-year’ really. I hoped to do well, but I definitely didn’t expect to have the sort of weekend we’ve had down here.”

This win makes it two national titles in three days for the year 12 student after he was involved in Hamilton Boys’ record breaking team time trial on Saturday. He also narrowly missed out in yesterday’s road race, finishing second to Callum Saunders (Marlborough Boys College).

This concludes the New Zealand Schools Road Cycling Championships which, with over 30 new national champions, will have a few riders leaving Manawatu smiling.

Under 20 Men, 39km: Corby Price (Hamilton Boys HS) 14points, 1; Logan Griffin (Auckland Grammar School) 10p, 2; Nick Bain (Macleans College) 9p, 3; Callum Saunders (Marlborough Boys College) 8p, 4; Sam Friend (Christchurch Boys HS) 7p, 5.
Under 20 Women, 24km: Devon Hiley (St Cuthbert's College) 20points, 1; Alice Hay (Rangi Ruru Girls School) 8p, 2; Georgina Wilson (Diocesan School for Girls) 6p, 3; Danielle McKenzie (Rangitoto College) 5p, 4; Lauren Hobson (Rangitoto College) 3p, 5.
Under 17 Boys, 24km: Jonny Ranford (Takapuna Grammar School) 9points, 1; Connor Stead (Christchurch Boys HS) 8p, 2; Jordan Castle (Palmerston North Boys HS) 7p, 3; Kurt Standen (Westlake Boys HS) 7p, 4; Cameron Howell (Palmerston North Boys HS) 5p, 5.
Under 17 Girls, 21km: Madison Farrant (Waikato Diocesan School for Girls) 15points, 1; Kate Stewart (Palmerston North Girls HS) 9p, 2; Emma Porritt (St Peter's Cambridge) 9p, 3; Tessa Jenkins (Rangi Ruru Girls School) 4p, 4; Mikayla Wieblitz (Villa Maria College) 3p, 5.
Under 16 Boys, 24km: Sam Dobbs (Hamilton Boys HS) 18points, 1; Josh Kendall (Palmerston North Boys HS) 6p, 2; Louis Higginson (Scots College MS) 5p, 3; Max Jones (Christchurch Boys HS) 4p, 4; Ayden Lamont (Saint Kentigern College) 3p, 5.
Under 16 Girls, 21km: Ellie Cowan (Takapuna Grammar School) 12points, 1; Bryony Botha (Rangitoto College) 10p, 2; Lydia Rippon (Massey HS) 8p, 3; Yasmin Kessner (Baradene College) 5p, 4; Georgia Catterick (Marlborough Girls College) 3p, 5.
Under 15 Boys, 18km: Campbell Stewart (Palmerston North Boys HS) 15points, 1; Connor Brown (Saint Kentigern College) 4p, 2; Robert Stannard (Palmerston North Boys HS) 3p, 3; Alex Morreau (Auckland Grammar School) 3p, 4; Cameron McIlraith (Auckland Grammar School) 2p, 5.
Under 15 Girls, 15km: Michaela Drummond (Freyberg HS) 11points, 1; Michelle de Heer (Diocesan School for Girls) 10p, 2; Madeleine Park (Baradene College) 4p, 3; Phoebe McCaughan (Villa Maria College) 3p, 4; Rose Marshall-Lee (Rangi Ruru Girls School) 2p, 5.
Under 14 Boys, 18km: Sam Titter-Dower (Strathallan College) 10points, 1; William Young (Auckland Grammar School) 10p, 2; Theo Wright (Tauranga Intermediate School) 7p, 3; Sam Hall (Christchurch Boys HS) 3p, 4; Trent Dodds (Macleans College) 1p, 5.
Under 14 Girls, 15km: Emily Shearman (Palmerston North Girls HS) 15points, 1; Emma Smith (Villa Maria College) 8p, 2; Libby Arbuckle (Palmerston North Intermediate Normal) 5p, 3; Olivia Reiber (Baradene College) 2p, 4; Georgia Clarke (St Cuthbert's College) 2p, 5.
Under 13 Boys, 9km: Brett Hockey (Ilminster Intermediate) 10points, 1; Flyn Yates (Palmerston North Intermediate Normal) 6p, 2; Dylan McCullough (Saint Kentigern College) 2p, 3; Adam Martin (Palmerston North Intermediate Normal) 2p, 4; Ryan Church (Saint Kentigern College) 1p, 5.
Under 13 Girls, 9km: Jenna Merrick (Baradene College) 10points, 1; Shaane Fulton (Waimea Intermediate) 6p, 2; Amy Peploe (St Cuthbert's College) 2p, 3; Niamh Fisher-Black (Nelson Intermediate) 2p, 4; Amy Horn (Ohau School) 1p, 5.

Click to enlarge...
Senior Girls Winner Devon Hiley - Credit Peter McDermot

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Ĺ KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign