CyclingNZ Home
NZ Fastmen Headline Team for World's
14 Sep, 2011

Seven-time Tour de France cyclist Julian Dean will spearhead a small but potent team in this month’s UCI Road World Championships in Denmark.


Dean (Garmin Cervelo) will be joined by fellow Pro Tour rider Greg Henderson (Team Sky) and Jack Bauer (Endura Racing) to form the three-strong men’s team for the world championships in Copenhagen on 21-25 September.


Radioshack’s Jesse Sergent and Bauer will compete in the time trial, while Linda Villumsen (AA ) is the sole woman, competing in both the road race and time trial.


Director Sportif Andy Reid said selection for the three spots has been one of the toughest in recent times.


“We now have a number of riders in Pro Tour Teams and other racing to a high level both in Europe and USA,” Reid said.


“The course was also a key factor in our selections, with the race likely to favour the sprinters.


“Julian and Greg are world class sprinters who have had excellent success this year. We needed a strong rider on flat circuits to ride for them, have the potential to ride down breaks and do the donkey-work.


“Jack Bauer has proved he is extraordinarily strong and all three have been in top form this year.”


Henderson has had two wins this year on stage two of the Paris-Nice and stage three of the Tour of California; Dean was part of the Garmin team that won the team time trial and finished top team at the Tour de France and Bauer won stage two of the Tour of Utah.


Sergent has won three individual time trials this year in the prologue at the Driedaagse van West-Vlaanderen, the Eneco Tour and Tour du Poitiou Charentes where he won overall honours while Villumsen won the bronze medal in the time trial in 2009 and 2010 as well as the silver medal at the Commonwealth Games.


The BikeNZ team is:


Elite Female: Linda Villumsen (AA, Auckland).


Elite Male: Jack Bauer (Endura Racing, Nelson), Julian Dean (Garmin Cervelo, Rotorua), Greg Henderson (Team Sky, Melbourne), Jesse Sergent (Radioshack, Feilding).


U23 Male: George Bennett (Trek Livestrong, Nelson), Jason Christie (Ashburton)  Tom David (UCS Crabbe Performance, Auckland), James Williamson (Pure Black Racing, Alexandra).


U19 Female: Georgia Williams (Auckland), Sophie Williamson (Alexandra).


U19 Male Alex Frame (Christchurch), Fraser Gough (Havelock North), James Oram (Pure Black Racing, Auckland), Hayden McCormick (Te Awamutu), Dion Smith (Pure Black Racing, Auckland)


Staff: Andy Reid (Director Sportif), Sarah Blake and Hans Sente (Soigneur), Craig Geater, Goncar Mindaugas (Mechanics), John Dean (U19 Team Manager), Jono Hailstone (U19 Coach).

Click to enlarge...
Team leader Julian Dean

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign