CyclingNZ Home
Voigt Leads Leopard for Tour of GB
29 Aug, 2011

Treble Tour de France stage winner Jens Voigt will lead the Leopard Trek team in this September’s Tour of Britain, in a six rider line which also includes 2006 Tour of Britain winner Martin Pedersen.


Riding alongside Leopard Trek in the 96 rider peloton will be fellow UCI World Tour team Rabobank, whose star studded line-up includes Olympic Silver medalist and five time World Track Champion Theo Bos, plus current Under-23 Road Race World Champion Michael Matthews, and Team Europcar, who will be led by 2010 Tour de France King of the Mountains Anthony Charteau.


The Irish AN Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team also return to The Tour of Britain, with a duo of Brits, Andrew Fenn and Mark McNally amongst their six rider provisional line-up.


“This year’s Tour of Britain is building up to have our best field yet,” said Race Director Mick Bennett.


“The fact that UCI World Tour teams like Rabobank and Leopard Trek are sending such strong line-ups speaks volumes about The Tour of Britain and how the race is continuing to go from strength-to-strength.


“With riders like Theo Bos, Thor Hushovd and other top sprinters contesting the sprints, I am sure that both the Yodel Sprints and Prostate Cancer Charity Points Jerseys will be hotly contested.”


In addition to Voigt and Pedersen, Leopard Trek’s six rider team also includes 2007 Tour de France stage winner Linus Gerdemann, while the addition of Australian Michael Matthews to The Tour of Britain’s provisional line-up means that both the 2010 Senior and Under-23 Road Race World Champions will be racing on British roads this September, following the announcement of Thor Hushovd’s participation with Garmin Cervelo.


AN Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team provisional Tour of Britain line-up:

Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu); Sam Bennett (Irl); Andrew Fenn (GBr); Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel); Ronan McLaughlin (Irl); Mark McNally (GBr)

Reserves: Mark Cassidy (Irl); Niko Eeckhout (Bel); Philip Lavery (Irl); Connor McConvey (Irl); Kenny Terwduwe (Bel)


Leopard Trek provisional Tour of Britain line-up:

Will Clarke (Aus); Linus Gerdemann (Ger); Dominic Klemme (Ger); Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita); Martin Pedersen (Den); Jens Voigt (Ger)


Rabobank provisional Tour of Britain line-up:

Lars Boom (Ned); Theo Bos (Ned); Rick Flens (Ned); Michael Matthews (Aus); Bram Tankink (Ned); Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned)

Reserves: Matti Breschel (Den); Graeme Brown (Aus); Sebastian Langeveld (Ned); Maarten Tjallingii (Ned)


Team Europcar provisional Tour of Britain line-up:

Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn); Franck Bouyer (Fra); Anthony Charteau (Fra); Damien Gaudin (Fra); Yohann Gene (Fra); Alexandre Pichot (Fra)

Reserves: Mathieu Claude (Fra); Christophe Kern (Fra); Guillaume Le Floch (Fra); Kevin Reza (Fra)


The Tour of Britain begins in the Scottish Borders and Dumfries & Galloway on Sunday 11th September, visiting England’s Northwest, Stoke-on-Trent and the Staffordshire Moorlands.  Two stages in the South West, in Devon and Somerset, are followed by a return to East Anglia, with a stage from Suffolk to Norfolk, before the final day of the race takes place in central London on Sunday 18th September, as the battle for the race leader’s IG Markets Gold Jersey reaches its climax with an individual time trial and circuit race on the streets of Whitehall and Westminster.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign