CyclingNZ Home
More Medals for Team SUBWAY
10 May, 2011

SUBWAY® Pro Cycling’s Nick Lovegrove (Counties Manukau) and Dillion Bennett (Cycling Southland) picked up bronze medals on the final day of the RaboDirect National Club Championships in Wanganui on Sunday.


Lovegrove was involved in an exciting sprint finish in the senior men’s elite 154 kilometre road race that saw Counties Manukau rider Matt Sillars inching past Lovegrove in the final metres for the win. Andrew Hagan (Port Nicholson Poneke) was promoted to second after officials upheld a protest from the Wellington rider.


Bennett rode strongly to win a bronze medal in the Under 23 event that was won by Matt Wheatcroft from Counties Manukau. Only 13 riders out of the field of 52 finished the gruelling race.


Lovegrove said the SUBWAY® Pro Cycling riders rode to a plan but he just “didn’t have the legs to pull it off.”


“I finished second but was relegated to third after a protest by the third placed finisher. Basically I blew with twenty metres to go and deviated off my line a little bit but only lost by a few centimetres to Matt.”


Sillars, who hopes to start his contract with Taiwan-based UCI Pro Continental Asia team Giant-Kenda in Indonesia next month, timed his sprint well to win.


“I knew it would end in a small group. I sprint alright, but would have liked to have less than six riders in the final sprint,” Sillars said.


It proved an aggressive race with the lead changing many times. The peloton fractured into two groups with several riders shed over a challenging final 20 kilometres until there were only six left to contest the sprint.


SUBWAY® Pro Cycling’s Paul Odlin (Pegasus Cycling) was also in the final six but was heavily marked so Lovegrove took his chance but faded as they closed on the finish line.


The two other SUBWAY® Pro Cycling riders in the field were Sam Horgan (Pegasus) who won his first national senior title the time trial on Thursday, and Matt Gorter (Hamilton Cycling).


Horgan and Gorter had been in break with Odlin for two laps of the 22 kilometre circuit that was caught with just over two laps remaining.


The SUBWAY® Pro Cycling team’s focus now turns to the United States where it will be based between Milwaukee in Wisconsin and Chicago, the largest city in the Midwestern US, for two months from mid June.


The team’s three major focuses will be the Tour of America's Dairyland, the Alexian Brothers Tour of Elk Grove and Speedweek, a series of 17 days of criterium races across the states of Illinois and Wisconsin.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011 Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign