CyclingNZ Home
Bevin and Buchanan Triumph in Takapuna
26 Nov, 2014

Patrick Bevin and Rushlee Buchanan have won their respective open men’s and women’s races at the 2014 Criterium National Championship held in Takapuna’s CBD on Friday evening.

Bevin was part of a three-strong breakaway with eight minutes to go that also included last year’s winner, Mike Northey and Dion Smith. In a sprint finish, Bevin had enough legs to hold off Northey, who claimed second, and Smith, who claimed third.

Bevin was delighted with his win saying, “I’m over the moon - it’s an amazing feeling to win with such a strong field.”

In the open women’s race, New Zealand endurance track team member Buchanan, edged out team-mate Lauren Ellis, with last year’s champion, Emily Collins finishing third.

One of the strongest ever fields had gathered for the event.

The open men’s category included Olympic Games medallists Marc Ryan and Westley Gough, Commonwealth Games mountain bike medallist Sam Gaze, 2013 UCI Omnium World Champion Aaron Gate, and last year’s winner, Northey.

The open women’s field included last year’s champion Emily Collins, along with Buchanan, Lauren Ellis, Jaime Nielsen, Racquel Sheath and Georgia Williams - all members of the New Zealand track endurance team that recently competed in the UCI Track World Cup in Mexico.

In earlier races, Bradley Leitch took out the all comers race, backing up from his U17 boys victory last year, while Harry Waine prevailed in the U17 boys race and Georgia Danford won the U17 girls race.


Open men – Patrick Bevin, 1; Mike Northey, 2; Dion Smith, 3.

Open women – Rushlee Buchanan, 1; Lauren Ellis, 2; Emily Collins, 3.

All comers – Bradley Leitch, 1; Laurence Kerby, 2; Joshua Kuysten, 3.

U17 boys – Harry Waine, 1; Jacob Kench, 2; Liam Cappel, 3.

U17 girls – Georgia Danford, 1; Shaane Fulton, 2; Rebecca Gumbley, 3.

Bike NZ appreciates and acknowledges the support of the Takapuna Beach Business Association, Devonport-Takapuna Local Board and Southern Trust for helping make the event possible.

Click to enlarge...
Bevin powers to victory - credit Daryl Carey

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Å KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Mike NortheybioSPORT Series Champion a
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign