CyclingNZ Home
NZ World Champions Take Commonwealth Gold
25 Jul, 2014

The crack mens sprint cyclists won New Zealand's first gold medal of the Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

The mens team blitzed their English rivals in the final to the delight of the many New Zealanders in the crowd at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome. New Zealand flags dotted the scene and there was plenty of cheering and encouragement.

The New Zealanders Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins won the world team sprint title in Colombia earlier this year and the ride in Glasgow emphasised their superiority in this most explosive of events.

In the final the New Zealanders were away quicker and had opened up a half-second lead by the end of the second of the three laps.

Their time of 43.181 (average speed 62.527kmh) was a Commonwealth Games record. The English were timed at 43.709s. In their qualifying ride, the New Zealanders clocked 43.254s, so their class was evident throughout the event.

Both times lower their previous best.

I was delighted. The boys have put in the work, we knew we were in that sort of shape and they came out and delivered, said coach Anthony Peden.

New Zealand also has sprint riders in the quarterfinals of the individual event, to be held tomorrow.

Earlier Sam Webster broke the Commonwealth record with a 9.9s effort, which was beaten by teammate Dawkins in 9.8 with Australian Matt Glaetzer taking top spot in 9.7.

Webster, Dawkins and Matt Archibald all went through in the first round, with Dawkins accounting for Olympic champion Jason Kenny, who got through to the quarterfinals in a repechage.

Perhaps the biggest cheer was for young sprinter Stephanie McKenzie, a late addition to the games team, who whipped more than half a second off her best and the national record in the 500m time trial.

In her first significant international event as an elite, McKenzie was pleased to finish fourth overall in the event won by the truly great Anna Meares.

The second medal went to the mens team pursuit, who responded to their disappointing effort in the qualifying, where they made a mess of the final kilometre to finish third overall. The combination of Dylan Kennett, Pieter Bulling, Marc Ryan and Shane Archbold crushed Canada, overtaking them in a little over 2kms to claim the bronze.

Australia were far too strong for England in the gold medal match.

Click to enlarge...
NZ Team sprint Gunning it - Brilliant action by Guy Swarbrick

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign