CyclingNZ Home
NZ U19 Team Impress Abroard
9 Jul, 2014

The U19 New Zealand team, led by coaches Wayne Girdlestone, Matt Shallcrass and Katri Laike competed against Australiaís top U19 riders at the weekend.

The first day of competition saw Georgia Catterick ride to 4th place in the womenís time trial in chilly conditions. The race was delayed by half an hour due to fog on the course, which limited visibility to just 20 metres.

The delayed start saw the boys time trial occur in much improved conditions. The boys laid down impressive times in a field of 66 riders, enough to make the Australian boys sit up and take notice going into the road race on the second day of competition.

With the road race course consisting of nearly 600 metres of climbing, confidence was high.

The girls again had a smaller field of 15, which was loaded with talent, and made for an extremely fast and exciting race. New Zealand had four riders out in the front bunch going into the last climb of the day, and a good result seemed likely, before a crash took out team captain Georgia Vessey and rider Hannah Gumbley.

Both girls recovered quickly and started to chase the lead bunch, but were unable to catch them, leaving it up to Lydia Rippon and Georgia Catterick to contend for the finish.

The boys lined up to gusty winds and the ever ominous presence of dark rain clouds for their road race, with a large field of 76 riders. Three of the New Zealand riders were taken out by injury and mechanicals, and overall only half the field completed the brutal race.

The last day of competition focussed on the criterium, with the boys racing first. Due to the large field, officials ran two heats with the top 25 riders qualifying for the final race.

All five New Zealand contenders made it through to the final, where racing was very fast and more often than not single file. John Newman-Watt decided to stretch the field in a couple of particularly difficult areas of the course and in doing so pushed more than 20 riders past their limits. This opened a prime opportunity for Joel Yates to jump out with another rider.

Newman-Watt, Ryan Christensen and Nate Levin all rode smartly and ensured the pace of the bunch was slow enough to allow for Joel to get a good gap on the peloton. Towards the end of the race there was a crash, disrupting the race just enough that Yates and his breakaway companion stayed clear of the bunch. Yates finished second thanks to his impressive riding and the teamwork from his compatriots.

In the girls criterium the New Zealand team were unable to disrupt the race, leading to a sprint finish. With a lap to go Georgia Vessey and Lydia Rippon went to the front, clearing the way for nominated sprinters were Phoebe Treseder and Hannah Gumbley. Treseder was blocked by an Australian rider, leaving the sprint to Gumbley, who up against junior world track representatives sprinted to 5th.

The New Zealand team should be extremely proud of their achievements. Cycling is a tough sport and adversity occurs more than success - all riders were professional and accepted the good with bad and continued to work hard as a team. Now itís back to New Zealand to regroup and focus on the next challenge!

Selected New Zealand U19 Team:

U19 Women:

Lydia Rippon

Hannah Gumbley

Phoebe Treseder

Georgia Vessey

Georgia Catterick

U19 Men:

Joel Yates

Nick Reddish

John Newman-Watt

Nate Levin

Ryan Christensen

New Zealand Team Results Ė Womenís Time Trial

Georgia Catterick Ė 4th

Georgia Vessey - 9th

Hannah Gumbley - 12th

Lydia Rippon - 13th

Phoebe Treseder - 14th


Menís Time Trial:

Joel Yates - 19th

Ryan Christensen - 29th

Nick Reddish - 31st

John Newman Watt - 34th

Nate Levine - 61st


Womenís Road Race:

Lydia Rippon 4th

Georgia Catterick 5th

Georgia Vessey 7th

Hannah Gumbley 9th

Phoebe Treseder 13th

Menís Road Race:

Ryan Christensen 20th

Nick Reddish 27th

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month‚Äôs ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend‚Äôs double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. ‚ÄúThe weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo ‚Ä" Visma‚Äôs Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley ҆KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik‚Äôs 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Tour de Femme
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign