CyclingNZ Home
Cottams Take Home Laykold Cup Silverware
2 Dec, 2013
Denay Cottam sprinted to a second straight Laykold Cup at Wellington Velodrome on Sunday December 1, ahead of local rider Louis Higgison and Mikey MaCallum in a bruising 10km race peppered by numerous attacks and chases. Maxyna Cottam also scored a repeat win in the Poneke Plate while Wellington's Nick Warren took out the 8km masters' Stayers Cup. Almost 50 riders, including 31 under 13s, 15s and 17s competed throughout the day at the carnival, one of the Lower North Islands premier track cycling events.

After a number of surges in the first two thirds of the race, the Laykold Cup field was whittled down to just four riders: Denay Cottam, Mikey MaCullum, Louis Higgison and Zac Blakely. Each tried their luck to escape but none of them managed to get more than a few lengths ahead before the others bridged across to them. With a lap remaining, Blakely made his move, but Cottam was right on to his wheel. The New Plymouth based rider quickly overhauled Blakely and held off a fast finishing Higgison for a fine win.

Maxyna Cottam's victory in the Poneke Plate was equally as hard fought, however Wellington's Ione Johnson was only a wheel behind in a very tight finish. Cottam, who had recently returned from the Oceania Championships where she won a gold medal, attacked a number of times but wasn't able to shake off her rivals. Johnson, a member of the under 19 BikeNZ development squad, marked Cottam closely and countered every move confidently. Going into the final lap, Cottam led out and held on for victory over Johnson and Holly Blakely in third.

In the masters' Stayers Cup, a blistering attack from defending champion Jeremy Cottam on the gun quickly ripped the field to bits, with four riders able to hold his pace: Nick Warren, Grant Perry, Steve Chapman and Regan Bang. Aware of Cottam's reputation as a sprinter, Perry, Chapman and Warren made attempt after attempt to get away. Finally, with six laps remaining, an attack by Warren stuck and he soloed to victory. Perry was second, with Chapman third.

In the junior events, Louis Hodgkinson's excellent season continued as he took out the under 13 mini league ahead of Finn Sherlock and Bryden Cottam. Amy Horn and Sophie Blaxhom were joint winners of the under 15 girls mini league while George Jackson won the under 15 boys with Sam Tillotson second and Alex James third. Ione Johnson and Holly Blakely were first and second in the under 17 girls category, and Jordan Lewis won the under 17 boys, which included a terrific win in the final scratch race.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley ŠKODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
a Tour de Femme
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 Tour de Vineyard Jersey Wearers 2011
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign