CyclingNZ Home
Wellington Trackies Look to Laykold Cup Glory
27 Nov, 2013

Wellington's track cyclists are aiming to bring home the silverware at the prestigious Laykold Cup, which will be held at Wellington Velodrome, Hataitai at 12-4pm on Sunday December 1 and is organized by the PNP Cycling Club. In 2012 New Plymouth's Cottam family clean swept all the major races, with Jeremy winning the masters' 8km Stayers Cup race, daughter Maxyna winning the women’s 8km Poneke Plate, and son Denay the 10km Laykold Cup itself. 


However they will be challenged strongly by local riders this year, with on-form Zac Blakely primed for the Laykold Cup and BikeNZ under 19 development squad rider Ione Johnson a force to be reckoned with in the women's race. Wellington's masters competing for the Stayers Cup include multi-national champion Steve Chapman and consistent performers Grant Perry and Nick Warren. 


Under 13, 15 and 17 junior cyclists will be aiming to score points in a series of races that go towards overall prizes at the end of the day. Wellington youngsters to watch are track league series leaders Louis Hodgkinson and Will Findlay plus under 17 girls Martine Barnes and Holly Blakely.


Riders from across the Lower North Island are expected to participate in the 86-year-old event which was originally presented to the Petone Amateur Athletic and Cycle Club in 1928 for the winner of a five mile handicap race held at Petone Oval. In recent years the event has morphed into a 10km scratch race with an afternoon of supporting races. Previous winners include four-time Commonwealth Games medalist Graeme Miller and Olympic bronze medalist Gary Anderson. 


Race entry is $5, spectators go free. More details are here:

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
Six years ago, Christchurch mountain bike phenomenon, Anton Cooper, set a race record in the famous Gazley Å KODA Karapoti Classic that many thought would never be broken. The former world and Commonwealth champion slashed seven minutes of the previous record to clock 2hrs 07min 57secs around the >>
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Tour de Femme
Daniel Gate bioSPORT Crite Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign