CyclingNZ Home
Burkes Speed League Returns to Wellington
3 Oct, 2013

"The fastest bike racing in town," the Burkes Cycles Track Cycling Speed League, returns for a second season beginning on 3 November 2013 at Wellington Velodrome in Hataitai. After a successful first season, organisers say the competition which runs 4-6pm every Sunday from November through to end of March 2014, is going from strength to strength. Increased sponsorship and a new women-only contest is expected to draw more riders on top of the 80-plus participants aged between 13-65 who competed during the inaugural 2012/13 season.


Riders can pick up points in races graded according to ability and at the end of the season, titles are handed out for the overall, under 15, under 17 and women's Champions.There's also a separate Sprint Ace series for the quickest of the quick backed by The Lanes Bar and Bowling Lounge including, for the first time ever, a women-only Sprint Ace.


Title sponsor Burkes Cycles of Kilbirnie are joined by Champion System clothing, who provide custom leaders and winners jerseys, plus Mavic and Pinarello as prize sponsors.


"It's the fastest bike racing you're going to see in the capital," says organiser Peter Moore. "Track racing is a safe way to enjoy cycling on a purpose built venue away from traffic. Last year we had all age groups participating from 13 up to over 60 and an increasingly competitive women's section - we're expecting more of the same for this year."


"We've got something to offer for novices to experienced riders alike and hold regular sessions where anyone can come along and have a go."


In 2012/13, Masters rider Nick Warren held off the charge from youth rider Jon Barnes for the overall title. Barnes was under 17 winner and Sprint Ace Champion, while Ele Pepperell edged out Renita Vanderhelm in the women's competition. Martine Barnes was under 15 champion, and Lee Evans took out the Power Play title where riders attempt to record the highest power to weight ratio possible. All are expected to return to the Wellington Velodrome this season to defend their titles.


As well as the Burkes Cycles Speed League, PNP will also be organising the Wellington Centre Championships in February 2014 and the Laykold Cup on December 1 2013. The Cup has an 85 year old history and is one of the largest events on the Lower North Island's cycling calendar.

Click to enlarge...

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo " Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-Drôme riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
The 2018 Downhill and Cross Country World Cups came to a climax this weekend with the final round of racing in France. We saw great season-ending placings for Fizik saddle riders: Loris Vergier took 4th and Luca Shaw 8th in the Downhill, while Lars Forster 4th, Stephane Tempier 6th and Titouan >>
LOOK 2018
Morgan Blue Cleaning
ISM Saddles
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Karl Murray 2010 Tour of New Caledonia
Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10 a
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign