CyclingNZ Home
Perry Foundation Schools Cycling Championships
29 Sep, 2008

After being edged out in the team time trial and the road race, Auckland Grammar flexed their muscles on the final day of the Perry Foundation national secondary school cycling championships in Feilding yesterday.

Alexander Ray, better known to his cycling friends as the Grammar Hammer, took out the under-20 points race with an emphatic display around the Manfeild Autocourse.

Ray won three of the seven sprints in the 14-lap, 42km race to manage 23 points, and had the title in his grasp before the final sprint. He finished clear of school-mate and fellow Pro-Velo rider Aaron Gate, who won the final two sprints to finish with 15 points with Dunstan High School’s Patrick Williamson third.

Chloe Harding-Sheath (Massey High, Auckland) took out the girls under 20 race and added her name to an impressive list of former champions that includes Sarah Ulmer, Catherine Cheatley and Susy Pryde. She finished with 13 points and also had the title decided before the final sprint in the 24km race.

Auckland Grammar’s George Scott won the opening three sprints to dominate the under-17 boys title from James Northey (Westlake) while Daniel Cross edged out his Westlake mate Ryan Lowther-Smith by one point in the under-16s.

Alex Stancliffe made it a double by adding the points race to his win in the road race, scoring 15 points in the under-15 race, with fellow Kristin College team-mate Hardy Mitchel runner-up, as he was yesterday.

The under-14 honours went to Joel MacManus (Garin College, Nelson) when he won all three sprints to finish ahead of Sean Kirby (Sacred Heart, Auckland) while Rainier Jackson (St Kentigern) edged out Callum Ross (Whangaparaoa) on countback in the year 7-8.

Grace Mitchell (Diocesan Auckland) was too strong for Henrietta Mitchell (Baradene) in the under-17 girls while Danyela Van Der Sande (St Cuthberts) won the under-16 title by just one point from Alina Varoy (St Kentigern).

The under-15 honours went to Sophie Williamson (Dunstan College), following her older brother Patrick on to the podium today. She won with 11 points from Racquel Sheat (Whangaparaoa) with nine.

Devon Hiley (St Cutherbert) won the under-14 contest by one point from Robin Hacker-Cary (Waikato Diocesan) and Amelia Retter (Auckland Diocesan) beat off the challenges in the year 7-8 race. 

Results of the Perry Foundation New Zealand schools cycling championships, points race at Manfeild Autocourse:


Under 20: Alexander Ray (Auckland Grammar) 23 points, 1; Aaron Gate (Auckland Grammar) 15, Patrick Williamson (Dunstan HS) 9, 3.

Under 17: George Scott (Auckland Grammar) 18, 1; James Northey (Westlake Boys) 8, 2; Steven Furminger (Massey HS) 5, 3.

Under-16: Daniel Cross (Westlake) 9, 1; Ryan Lowther-Smith (Westlake) 8, 2; Scott Crighton (Hamilton Boys) 7, 3.

Under 15: Alex Stancliffe (Kristin Col) 15, 1; Hardy Mitchell (Kristin Col) 9, 2; Thomas Nicholson (Garin Col) 4, 3.

Uneder-14: Joel MacManus (Garin Col) 15, 1; Sean Kirby (Sacfred Heart, Auck) 9, 2; Scott Ambrose (Sancta Maria Auck) 4, 3.

Year 7-8: Rainier Jackson (St Kentigern) 5, 1; Callum Ross (Whangaparaoa Col) 5, 2; Regan Goss (Waipawa Col) 3, 3.


Under-20: Chloe Harding-Sheath (Massey High) 13, 1; Ashleigh James (S Cuthberts) 9, 2; Maddy runton (Waikato Diocesan) 7, 3.

Under 17: Grace Mitchell (Auckland diocesan) 16, 1; Henrietta Mitchell (Baradene Col) 12, 2; Elizxabeth Steel (Vila Maria Co) 8, 3.

Under-16: Danyela Van Der Sande (St Cuthberts) 12, 1; Alina Varoy (St Kentigern) 11, 2; Macaulay Wilkinson (Auckland Diocesan) 7, 3.

Under 15: Sophie Williamson (Dunstan High) 11, 1; Racquel Sheath (Whagnaparaoa Col) 9, 2; Amy Pearce (Taieri Col) 6, 3.

Under-14: Devon Hiley (St Cuthberts) 12, 1; Robin Hacker-Cary (Waikato diocesan) 11, 2; Tessa Hogan (Baradene Col) 5, 3.

Year 7-8: Ameluia Retter (Auckland Diocesan) 10, 1; Arzjah Flavell (Taupo Intermediate) 6, 2; Stephanie Henderson (Sacred Heart Auck) 2, 3.

Latest News
Last month’s ferocious weather that wreaked havoc on the West Coast has seen many hours of effort to ensure this weekend’s double header rounds of the Calder Stewart Cycling Series in Hokitika can go ahead. “The weather gods poured more bad news on the proposed round three course in >>
As the season fast approaches, take a minute to learn about which world class athletes will be using Crankbrothers products in 2019 and beyond! New for this season, we are excited to welcome the Trek cross country superstar duo of Emily Batty and Yolanda Neff along with the rest of the Trek >>
Team Jumbo â€" Visma’s Primoz Roglic has won the 54th edition of Tirreno-Adriatico in style, with a final stage Individual Time Trial performance to remember. His near-perfect technique on the San Benedetto del Tronto 10km out-and-back course saw him overturn a 25-second deficit to his closest >>
Latest Articles
We are delighted to share the news with you that fizik’s 2020 sponsored teams are confirmed! Along with our strong presence at the top of road cycling, we have a full set of mountain bike teams, competing in Cross-Country, Downhill and Enduro. MOUNTAIN BIKE TEAMS In Downhill, Commencal >>
What is the first e-road by LOOK? This is a bike that is the result of our mastery of carbon, which allows us to offer a frame that is both lightweight and durable, manufactured in our own production facilities. This is also a bike that has just continued a story that has been written at the >>
French rider Alexis Vuillermox of AG2R claimed the first team victory of the season in Livron-sur-DrĂ´me riding 2INpower Road and ROTOR chainrings. At the Cyprus Sunshine Cup, MTB rider Yana Belomoina of CST Sannd American Eagle was 1st place riding KAPIC while Githa Michiels of >>
LOOK 2018
ISM Saddles
Morgan Blue Cleaning
 Photo Gallery
Tour de Femme Waterfront Auckland TT 2-10-10
a Tour de Femme
Home Kiwi Riders Sports Science Beginners Articles Riders Reports Tech Corner Contact
© 2020 | Login | Design by OnfireDesign